Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
28
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
8
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 November 2014
Another zany adventure featuring Amaryllis Peebles and her friends in a small coastal town in Scotland. Amaryllis is forty-ish, a retired spy who has been trained to kill and can get herself resourcefully out of most situations. However, middle-age and a less demanding lifestyle may be softening her up and she can't climb walls the way she once could.
In chapter 1, Amaryllis, Christopher and Jock have been foolish enough to borrow a static caravan in March and have become pretty good at playing Scrabble while storms beat around the caravan. Their boredom is relieved when Darren, a young ne'er do well, and his Italian girlfriend arrive to take refuge from the law. The ensuing events involve the Mafia, a cat's home and knitting, a strange combination which brings serious consequences for Amaryllis and Christopher and fun to the rest of us.
As usual, this is a light-hearted tale in which the ludicrous, the exotic and the downright ordinary combine. with fast-moving events and a satisfactory denouement.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
Yet another great Pitkirtly Mystery by Cecilia Peartree and a great follow-on from her previous tales. I love these very amusingly told, gentle mysteries that have a bit of a bite, about the quirky elderly types sleuthing around the town, with my favourite character being Amaryllis, the retired spy whose steely demeanour hides a soft heart. A well recommended read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2012
This is the third book set in the Pitkirtly village. When I reviewed the second, I said it was better than the first. Now I am saying the third is better than the first.

I suppose these books can be classed as cosy mysteries. All I can say is I love them to bits. From the ex special agent Amaryllis, to the now head of the village heritage centre Christopher to Old Jock and Mrs Stephenson and Big Dave - the characters of this village are just a joy to read about.

This book was just unputdownable. There is a new book out and I look forward to reading it. The first book is free, so grab it and enjoy meeting this wonderful bunch of characters.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
Amusing dialogue and likeable characters make for easy reading. Suggest they be read in order as there is an on going storyline as well as a new mystery in each book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2012
An amusing account of life in coastal Fife, where a knitting bea is the hub of life and how a retired secret agent is trying to blend into the community, but with most of the community knowing what she did in her past life, never has murder and mayhem been so delicately done, a wonderfully well written and humorous tale.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2012
I enjoyed reading this, the third book of Cecilia Peartree's Pitkirtly series. I love the characters in these tales and the writing style is full of gentle humour. I found this story to be one of the most exciting in the series with a gripping ending.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2012
You don't have to read the previous Pitcaldy mysteries with Amaryllis, Christopher and all the gang but it's so much more entertaining if you do. Very funny and exciting. Hilarious that Amaryllis the spy and trained killer has now taken up knitting. I read the first book (Crime in the Community) as a freebie when I got my Kindle and now I'm hooked
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 4 November 2014
There are several people who could be fingered as the reformed character of the title. Christopher, in a new job, becomes dynamic. Darren, the not-quite-naughty boy, has an alibi though initially things look rather dark for him, Jock discovers an affinity with cats and even Amaryllis, ex-spy and hard woman, takes up knitting. This story has its twists and turns and surprised me on a few occasions.

This is another delightfully dotty and pleasurable read with characters I feel closer to in each book. It’s a cosy mystery in the sense that we don’t see too much of the blood and guts but there’s a definite sense of body-count here – it’s a nice story but it’s by no means bland. I really enjoy this style of humour and suspense. Altogether a great read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2011
This is a quirky, entertaining book. Although it can be read as a stand alone novel it is definitely enhanced by having knowledge of the back story from "Crime in the Community". Amaryllis, the retiired spy/killer and her gang of friends once again become involved in solving a crime.
The murders in the plot are actually of secondary importance to the cast of eccentric characters. The characters range from the enigmatic Amaryllis, who has developed an unlikely enthusiasm for knitting, through Christopher the permanently puzzled toastmaker, to Darren the hoodie wearing, ex arsonist who is the runaway murder suspect. Confusion is added by a family of italian ice cream sellers, the members of the "Cosy Clicks" knitting group and Big Dave's neice.
This is a great fun read, which provided amusement whilst I was rcovering from a stinker of a cold.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
More murderous goings on in Pitkirtly. Amaryllis and the rest of the gang find themselves helping a young tearaway they have had trouble with previously. This time he is suspected of murder, and despite his earlier "form" they come to believe in his innocence and risk arrest and worse trying to prove it.
Another good readable cosy mystery from the Pitkirtly series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here