Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 November 2015
I am not a fan of Pink Floyd although I am familiar with their recordings up until Wish You Were Here. For the most part I find their songs tired, ponderous and rather depressing. The Piper At The Gates of Dawn is however a different beast altogether. This is a wonderful, innovative, energetic and optimistic recording created by young men with roots in the culture of their time. I have owned this and Relics (bought for the diamond singles Arnold Layne and See Emily Play) on vinyl, cassette and now on cd and for me this is the very best of Pink Floyd. A D, Flaming, Interstellar, Matilda Mother The Scarecrow and Bike are wonderful songs. The album is a psychedelic masterpiece that belongs alongside other great experimental sounds of the time like The Hangman's Beautiful Daughter by the Incredible String Band.
If like me, you're not a huge fan of Pink Floyd, you should check out Piper as it is one of the great jewels of our time
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2016
Sonically The Piper At The Gates Of Dawn was engineered perfectly, so it is a joy to listen to instruments sounding live and direct, as if the listener is sitting in the control room whilst it is being recorded. A taste of avant garde scales, harmonies and experimental sounds brought to a world of grounded rock riffs, chord progressions and drum patterns, and surprisingly unspoilt by postproduction and mastering. So, If you are into sound, this is a reference album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2015
My first taste of Pink Floyd and it is a crazy, lovely mix of their talents which hinted at the possibilities of their future offerings. I must admit it is a little raw but it works as most of the Floyd productions do. Still a favourite after all these years. Had to buy the cd as my record has finally got too scratchy to hear properly.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2009
It's the only Floyd album which fully features Syd Barrett - an attentive, articulate yet somewhat eccentric soul who fell prey to the demons that haunted his mind. He would later emerge as some form of genius - and quite rightly so. Many parallels which lead me to define him as a `Richey Edwards of the Sixties'

With tales of Gnome's and Scarecrows, alongside the epic `Interstellar Overdrive' - a track which potentially put down the roots for Floyd's later development - it's a work no doubt drowned in the effects of LSD as Barrett took up the role as principal writer.

`Astronomy Domine' would put Barrett's guitar sound on the map, clearly defined throughout the whole album. `Lucifer Sam' is in part reminiscent of a `60's film soundtrack while peace and love prevails particularly with `Matilda Mother' and `Flaming'. The whole album is an eclectic soundscape painting many colourful pictures, all of which will be of significance to hardcore fans.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2017
What can I say? A total Classic in the world of modern music !!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2016
Great CD all the old Pink Floyd classics. P. Floyd at there best. Would recommend if you like this type of music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2011
In terms of sheer sound quality improvement, the is possibly the biggest relative sound quality improvement of all of them. Several of the songs now have a real and unexpected powerful edge that was never audible before.

Of course it still has a very eccentric 60's mix (not unexpected) and the usual crappy packaging, but it would be churlish not to give it 5 stars.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2016
Brilliant . . . . I got the LP on it's day of release and it hasn't aged a bit . . . . .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2016
FAB
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2016
Brillent
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)