Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
22
4.1 out of 5 stars
The Essence of Tao
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99


on 8 September 2014
Having also lived (or tried to live) the dao (way) for over 30 years, I can say that as an introduction to tao, you probably won't find anything better. Pamela Ball knows her subject well and makes clear reference to some of the more complex detail. The only minor criticism I have is in the research of the origins of tai chi chuan in chapter 6, where Pamela refers to Chang San Feng as being credited as the founder of tai chi chuan, when the only reliable historical evidence remains with the chen family in chen village, henan province. It is a complex subject however and is one still being argued to this day. I would have expanded this chapter slightly as the internal and alchemical arts with dedication, can lead to direct contact with the tao (through jing, chi and shen). The inclusion of research on the daoist exercises of dao yin shu would also have been worthwhile as this can be dated back as a precursor to qi gong and is an important aspect in the development of tai chi chuan. I say all of this, but do not undermine the work in this book as it is a fabulous entry into what can be a minefield of complexity and the idea with tao is to keep things simple, which this book conveys extremely well. Paul Hiom (partner of MBailey)
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
Very informative, easy to read book. Reading as part of comparative theology course. Would highly recomend it to others for study, or to simply put meaning into everything. Found that Tao, rather than Taoism, makes sense as a way to live life in harmony with nature.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2012
This book is about as good an introduction of the subject as you can get. It doesn't intellectualise taoist philosophy but explains it in simple to understand terms.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2012
After studying different schools of thought upon the various forms of meditation, and the philosophies of Hinduism and Buddhism, I thought i'll give Taoism a try. Ms Ball writes a fantastic book. Easy to understand, comprehensible and so uplifting and inspiring. From the moment I began reading this mobi book, I flowed with the author's voice and learnt so much.
If anyone is new to the subject of Taoism or just fancies a little 'dabble' as to what it all means then read this book.
Ms Ball's voice in explaining Taoism is so interesting and worthy of following.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
I am relatively new to Tao and this book has helped me to understand it better. It gives an overview of similar beliefs as well as related subjects like feng shui, Chinese healing and history as well. I found it inspiring, eye-opener to Tao. Definitely a good start for someone wants to start learning about it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2016
Great read, loads of detail in here, but easy to skip through to parts of interest without losing a sense of the principles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2016
Help me come out of mindful of mess, take a step back let nature take it course, it helped me, others and the great universe
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2016
I found it very informative but a little dry in its narrative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2017
Awful
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2016
Great read, very well written and very informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)