Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 10 April 2013
I'm a big fan of Timothy Ferris. I love his whacky take on life and almost always learn loads from him. This book however is Meath for real cooking starters- think " how to make a salad", " how to boil an egg" etc. The science was unusually impenetrable and quite dull. While he does pepper the book with anecdotes they didn't seem to capture my imagination quite like those in his previous books. Sometimes they felt incomplete- i was reeled in, but left unsatisifed. it also felt as if i had heard some already, which could be an impression, or because his lifestyle is more familiar.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 December 2012
Again Tim Ferriss offers us another excellent insight in to his own experiences and tips and tricks to make our life better.

After reading the 4 hour Work Week and the 4 Hour Body, I have implemented some of his teachings which have had a positive impact on the life.

This new book, the 4 Hour Chef offers and whole host of new things to use.

If you like learning things, you like expanding the way you think or shifting the way you think. You want to improve your self? Then this book is for you
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 May 2013
It's a great book on accelerated learning framed around the context of cooking. There are a few really great recipes in here but this is not a recipe book. I got it on Kindle and the structure is hard to follow if you don't have the standard viewing settings and changing them just for this book is a pain. I got a free copy of the physical book a couple weeks later and it's amazing, much better and more useful in that form if you do want to drop in for the recipes and tips etc.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 December 2012
Totally unsuitable for kindle because there is much content which cannot be read on kindle.
Large tracts of Ferris self ego building.
Wish I hadn't bothered.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 September 2013
If you like Tim Ferris' first 2 books, you'll love this too. I love the way he's approached this, and have enjoyed reading it so far. Now I just need to actually try some of the recipes! I don't think this should be too much of a problem with the way he's leading the reader through one step at a time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 December 2012
Tim has done it again with another book. I enjoyed this kindle version but intend to buy the paperback - the kindle format isn't great for flipping back and forward as you will want to do with this book. Also my black and white kindle doesn't do the images justice.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2013
This arrived with the packaging intact but the hard cover of the book was bent and creased. I didnt complain because it is a huge and heavy book shipped from US to UK and although I like a new book to be perfect the environmental cost for the sake of a bent cover seemed inappropriate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2016
Love 4HB and 4HWW. I've done the slow carb diet and lost 2st of fat in 4 weeks. I've started a NR style business and it works nicely. But 4 hour chef is more of a Tim Ferriss sellout - a random collection of things he has done in his life. The majority of the book is based on cooking, but it includes some completely random things that unecessarily bulk the book up (like "how to tie 8 knots") It's not really a "learn anything" like it says. There's a single chapter on learning, and the majority of it only applies if you're able to source REALLY good learning materials (which sort of defeats the point of having a learning guide).

The recipes in the book are really nice, and perfect for the slow carb diet which can be really hard to follow if you don't cook properly, but be aware they are centred around the USA and certain ingredients won't be available readily in some places (example: avocados in the UK are rare; you can buy hass avocados at supermarkets, but this isn't the type that Ferriss uses). This also applies to some of the cooking gear.

Ferriss has let me down with this title - it strays from his usual life guru style and leans more towards his celebrity fanboy nature which I don't appreciate. That said, there's a lot of interesting stuff in there, if you can sift your way through the irrelevant self promotion.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 December 2012
i made the meatloaf out of this thing - absolutely awesome! i also thoroughly enjoy the song pairings. quirky, funny, well organized.

i haven't read the whole thing yet, but i had share what i've already discovered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2012
Tim Ferriss has changed my life... forever
well worth reading. interesting, catchy, original and for everyone, not just chefs!!!
love this book and highly recommend it x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)