Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
46
4.3 out of 5 stars
Oregon Scientific WMR86 Complete Home Weather Station
Price:£72.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 1 September 2014
The class 3 mode of wireless transmission seems totally reliable. I have not had a single break in indications or need to reset over the several weeks I have been using it. This is unlike another comparable (Watson) weather station I purchased at similar cost some years ago. Like all weather stations, the Oregon one appears to take only changes in barometric pressure into account when forecasting. I'd describe the forecasts as very generally correct (but you may wish to take an umbrella anyway!) Disadvantages include the need to cycle through the indications to obtain all the information required. Also it requires many batteries. If you want the outdoor ones to over-winter reliably, lithium cells need to be purchased. Still, they last a long time and the costs are coming down. I particularly liked the integration of the anemometer and wind direction vane. The construction seems man enough for the job and well sealed against wind and rain.The rain gauge is separate and requires separate mounting. So is the temperature and humidity unit, but I was pleased to be able to put it in an out-of the way location, well protected from direct wind and rain. If you have the display unit on a low table, you may find the contrast and viewing angle poor, a defect with many LCD type screens. Overall though, I am pleased with the purchase and the display unit seems reasonably neat and harmonious in domestic surroundings. I have always had good experiences with Oregon Scientific equipment.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2017
Difficult to set up but excellent product my husband was very pleased with his birthday present
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Works very well--very easy to set up
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2017
Works just fine and is good value for the price
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
Very satisfied. Complies with the description.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
Easy to set up and simple to read. However, my main complaint is about how you access information. You need to press the select button to scroll a little triangle from area to area on the readout. But the triangle is quite small, and definitely too hard for an older person to see. Once you have the little triangle in the right place, you can then use the other buttons to access different information. For me, max/min temperature is of interest - and is relatively easy to access (press select until you are in the temp. area; press up/down arrows to select indoor or outdoor sensor; press max/min button to scroll through max, min and current temp. One long press to reset memory). But why is the barometer, rainfall and UV measurement all in one area? This means you can't see both at the same time, and need to do more scrolling to access either.

So in all, for me, it is pretty good - but I wish they had thought a little about which information should be visible constantly on the screen - and made the little 'select' triangle a lot bigger!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
Just what I was expecting. Great product easy to set up and see the results. Also added the swimming pool sensor which again connected without problems. Delivery and packaging 100%
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2016
I can really only give this 3 stars (and I think those who have given more may not have other Stations to compare it with).
It is okay as a unit- but should be better for its price.
1) the display is quite small and icons hard to read (if you need any form of reading glasses). The way you move around the display seems dated as well- you have to move a cursor to any item you want to modify.
2) It cannot display inside and outside temperature details at the same time (you have to select one to display). This is a real shame
3) It measures rainfall in quite large increments as the 'tumbler bucket' inside the sensor is quite large. It collects about 1.1mm of rain before it then tumbles and displays any reading at all. And what it displays, ordinarily, is just the amount of rain since the sensor last transmitted (ie 1.1mm in the last one minute)- not the cumulative amount of rain in any given period (for that you have to move the cursor to rainfall and press the 'max' button- which then displays the amount of rain in the last 24 hours for about ten seconds, then it goes off. Frustrating). So, it can be raining hard outside and the display says 'zero' for a while till the measurement bucket tumbles. It's just not an intuitive way of displaying rainfall.

So, all in all, I'm a bit disappointed as I purchased this because of the high average review. This is now the forth Weather Station I've had and some of the others were better for less.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
Does what it says on the box - a weather station!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
This unit was purchased to replace a previous Oregon device which unfortunately perished when a batch of cheap Chinese batteries decided to leak spectacularly and eat away the terminals (Cautionary tale there folks...stick to a good brand of battery !)
Essentially pleased with this device - Main information I wanted was the temperature, humidity and barometric pressure. The rain gauge is interesting, as we get a lot of it in Lancashire. Not yet set up the anemometer, as unless you live out in open country with enough room for uninterrupted 360° wind flow, or are prepared to go up and mount it on the roof (Which I'm not...Don't do ladders !), then it will struggle to be accurate.
Good value at the price I paid on Amazon
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)