Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now



on 2 December 2017
This is an informative book, that as a someone new to the topic, needed time for me to absorb each section. I feel I gained a lot from reading it and will return to the text as my understanding of Kabbalah grows.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2006
This is a fine book, not easy to read but it really does get to the 'essence of Kabbalah'. If you can read between the lines, Brian Lancaster is offering something unusual: a book which actually enacts what Kabbalah is: a method of returning to and knowing the source of our being. He is Jewish and has no truck with the kind of Kabbalah which Madonna has publicised. There are some very interesting exercises in this book, though I wonder if Mr Lancaster has left out some of the details, because, if you did these exercises properly, they might actually work. The chapters on creation and the mysticism of language are particularly fine.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 December 2015
I was doing a University course in the Psychology of Kabbalah and this book helped me immensely along the way. It is very thorough yet easy to read unlike other academic books.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 March 2016
Very informative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 June 2016
Well packed and on time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 October 2014
Although the book is very comprehensive, the style doesn't make it enjoyable reading. It feels like a geeky scientific manual rather than a spiritual book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 October 2005
I've read many introductory books on Kabbalah but this is by far the most comprehensive. It is one of the few books that emphasises the central role of the Hebrew letters and language (the 'Loshon Kodesh' or Holy Speech) which are thought to have been the tools of creation itself.

There are clear explanations of difficult subject matters such as the Tree of Life, the Sefirot (Divine attributes) and some fascinating material on the famous Golem of Prague (who legend has it was animated and brought to life using the Divine names). Clearly Professor Lancaster is writing not simply from a scholarly perspective but also has first hand experience of some of the meditative techniques described.

A remarkable achievement, which deserves to be a spiritual bestseller.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 June 2016
I agree with the reviewer who said it was easy to read. Many books on this subject are anything but that. So in relative terms, it is. The author brings a clarity to this subject which is of a rare order indeed. He has written brilliantly and communicates his insights with equal brilliance. I will be grateful for the rest of my life for this achievement. How did it become possible? He knows how to structure the book appropriately, he knows the subject inside out and he has a clear position of both cultural and spiritual congruity with the material. Many authors have foundered on at least one of these points.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2014
Never received it !
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 April 2017
Brian is my lecturer. i really enjoy the way he delivers his knowledge, spoken or written. ive only read a couple of pages just to get a flavour, and im excited about it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)