Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 14 April 2017
Another great piece of modern mythology from a fantasy master. My only reservation with Gaiman is that this is yet another hapless hero who comes good, it's a repeated motif, but definitely a different angle - Afro-Caribbean mythology.
Gaiman has such humour, so evocative of Terry Pratchett, yet also never fails to endear us to his characters. In this one, the wise, yet mercurial Afro-Caribbean ladies who are the neighbours of his father who has (allegedly) passed away, are real gems.
I love the different setting of this story, the twists, the new ground explored. There is something unexpected and ancient about African origin stories. So yes, a good read if you want something different.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2017
Anansi Boys is a good read but not exactly what I was expecting.

I loved the premise of the book, discovering your wastrel of a father is a God and you have a brother you don’t remember who’s also a God. I thought this was original.

I loved reading about Charlie’s life when Spider invades it. There are some really funny moments when Spider swans in and just takes over, seducing Charlie’s fiancée, pretending to be Charlie at work and uncovering some dodgy going’s on and generally just getting in the way.
Charlie finds Spider threatening and wants him to go away. However, it’s at this point when things really get out of control. I really enjoyed the unexpected twists and turns. The book starts to get quite dark which I wasn’t expecting at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 September 2017
Excellent book!

A funny, tragic, beautiful modern fairy tale about a man who finds out his family isn't who he thought they were - and learns about himself in the process.

Loved the descriptions of the things Charlie saw and how all the stories weaved into one.

A perfect bit of Neil Gaiman.

Would recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 3 April 2011
This is not the type of book I usually read - not really being a great fan of humour in books. However, it was a book club read and so I approached it with trepidation and a feeling that I would probably not really like it. How wrong I was - and what a clever and original story this is. Fat Charlie Nancy is a slightly put upon man, working for an unpleasant boss in a tiny office in London, not getting very fair with his fiancee and positively disliked by his future mother in law. Meanwhile, in sunny Florida, his father dies an undignified death on a karaoke stage. Fat Charlie is ambivilent about his father - seeing him as a source of embarressment and no longer being close to him. However, he returns to Florida for the funeral and discovers that his father was really Anansi, the tricky spider god and that he has a brother he has never seen. How does he meet this brother? Ask a spider obviously. So, mostly disbelieving, he does just that and Spider appears. He is a complete conract to Fat Charlie - he is, in fact, a god. From this point on, everything in Charlie's life turns upside down and, having invited Spider into his world, how easy will it be to get rid of him? Great fun and intelligent humour, with a few myths and stories thrown in.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 July 2017
An absolute joy from the very first sentence
Gain an captures beautifully the lilt and rhythms of Caribbean/African folklore and transports the reader to places unimagined with a wonderful ease and lightness of touch
Recommended for anyone with an interest in mythology and legend , but also for anyone seeking a rollicking good read
I thoroughly enjoyed this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2017
If you aware of Mr Gaiman, this needs no introduction or comment. For others, ..... odd and brilliant. (I have been reading Mr. Gaimans work forever, so biased).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 June 2017
Very funny, well written and a light follow up to the American Gods book. Such a quick and easy read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 April 2017
Brilliant. Having lived for 3 years in the Caribbean, (where he was occasionally known as Anani) it rang many bells.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 August 2017
A touch of darkness with a slip of humour - enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2017
Glorious, a piece of true escapism and tremendous fun to read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here