Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
29
4.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2012
As an aspiring young businessman, I read this book with considerable interest. I used to be stuck in a rut, working in a dead end job for a joke of an organisation. I'd get into work hungover and slouch at my desk before sinking into a day-long slumber. Then one day I decided I wanted more from life. I wanted to be my own boss. I wanted to be my own master.

I consulted all around me for ideas. I spoke to my colleagues. I spoke to my friends. I spoke to my brain trust. None of them could help me. None of them had the ideas, the passsion, the know-how. I didn't know anyone who could help or who had been in that sort of position. Not all of us are friends with a Steve Jobs or a Tim Adams.

And then I read this book and everything seemed to fall into place. It made me think about what I needed to do to get ahead. It helped to give structure and detail to my nebulous thoughts. I quit my job and started up a boutique television company. It is thriving, so am I, and so is my colleague Peter.

This book truly is a remarkable guide to how to succeed. Bravo, Guy!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2012
The best thing about this book is that it is extremely comprehensive and yet at the same time a very easy read.

This country needs more entrepreneurs and I cannot think of a better guide for them to take on their journey. It is full of practical tips and also helpful quotes from those who have been there, done that and got the T shirt.

The plaudits from the many successful builders of business say everything that needs to be said about this book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
I found the book to be a useful checklist on things to consider when starting, growing and selling a business but nothing more than that. Any standard business academic books cover all of these content of this book. What would have been really insightful would be more real-life examples of experiences from leading entrepreneurs - it seems that the author only considers members of the UK's Dragon Den BBC TV series to be suitable subjects. Of course the book has been endorsed by James Caan (a past Dragon) presumably because he is regularly quoted in it! There are so many more high profile and interesting entrepreneurs worldwide who could have told us their experiences. I was also misled a bit as I thought Luke Johnson wrote this, but he only wrote the forward.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2012
This is an excellent businessbook for aspiring entrepreneurs, entrepreneurs who have hit a plateau and entrepreneurs specifically preparing their companies for exit. From Vision to Exit takes you through all aspects of running a business - from the heady highs at the start, through the growth stages and finally onto the perfect sale.

The book is well-written, clear and contains valuable information, case histories and helpful tips. It is a real compendium of everything you need to know at every stage of the life of a business and the comprehensive text, as well as being informative, also works as a reminder of the areas of your business that you might need to specifically work on at various times.

Although the basic principles of running a business are always unchanging, nevertheless the speed of progress in the 21st century means that more entrepreneurs will become serial entrepreneurs rather than hold on to their businesses for many years. Because it is harder to obtain funding from banks and because many more VCs and angel investors are taking stakes in companies at earlier stages, there is now much more pressure on entrepreneurs to grow their companies very fast and exit within a few years so that investors can take their money out. More entrepreneurs will be selling their companies for valuable sums at earlier stages and will then use their new money and expertise to go back into the fray. This alters the perspective for many startups who are having to think about their exits at an earlier stage than previously. From Vision to Exit makes this point very clearly and explains how to pitch for funding and what it really means to give away equity in your company.

From Vision to Exit is a valuable tool for all businesspeople, a useful store of essential information covering all the important stages in the life of a business. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2016
Guy Rigby has written a highly practical book for any entrepreneur seeking to grow and scale their business. From the first couple of chapters which are focused on developing a powerful vision and differentiated strategy to advice on how to raise equity finance. Each chapter is supported by various case studies from entrepreneurs who have already walked the talk and have their very pertinent experiences to share, as well as a good "Top Tips" summary at the end of each chapter which helps to re-enforce the learning.
The Book will provide an excellent text book to refer back to whether it be considering the need to determining the right time to bring in the right trusted advisors to how to you attract and recruit top talent to finally achieving a successful sale of the company when you have made the decision to sell.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This book is easy to read, it's a comprehensive guide to help you become an entrepreneur or go to the next level when preparing your company for exit. It is informative, well written, and has plenty of helpful tips, valuable case histories and inspirational quotes from those who have dare to try, been there, and succeed.

From Vision to Exit is well-written, a real compendium of everything you need to know at every stage of the business life cycle, from the start up, through the growth to the perfect sale stages.
There is something for everyone in this book, with its helpful advice and engaging style. Highly recommended for existing or aspiring entrepreneurs. Crucial reading if you need to access funding and understand the real implications when giving away equity in your company. In any case, this book will give you straightforward guidance and is an excellent starting point.

Maite Baron, The Corporate Escape Coach(tm), Author of Corporate Escape: The Rise Of The New Entrepreneur
Kindle Edition: Corporate Escape - The Rise Of The New Entrepreneur
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2011
There really is something for everyone in this book, all in one place. Too often you spend time searching for inspiration and advice only to be hit by 'management books' that preach a language no one understands. What we need is helpful practical advice and this book provides it in spades.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2012
Guy Rigby's From Vision To Exit arrived on the doorstep...

The book is pretty ambitious in its goal - a guide to building and selling a business. No mean task. In fact, Rigby succeeds in covering all the key points from vision, strategy, tactics through growth, pace and profits to flexibility and focus and on. If you've got a 'growing/selling the business' question, it will be covered in the book.

The book uses plenty of examples and quotes to support the commentary on each topic. This brings things to life.

As a thorough A-Z, the book cannot be expected to be an expert in every field but it certainly gives you clear, straightforward guidance and is an excellent starting point.

Rigby is from an accounting background and the book is a thorough piece as one would expect. No wish-washy hippy stuff here. Just a factual account of what do to, where to go, how to do it. While this approach may not appeal to new age business people it will appeal to those people who are looking for a grounded real-world viewpoint.

Some people will read this from cover-to-cover; others will use it as a reference book.

The book will be used and kept by anyone in the business advisory world as the book they have in their drawer as the reference point they can use at zero notice.

It will be read by the aspiring entrepreneur to help them understand the journey ahead.

It is certainly not a bluffer's guide. It is grown up which is refreshing after all the breathless, get-rich-quick, fad-of-the-month, I'm-a-celebrity/guru, PR-driven volumes that have been published more recently.

Does it achieve its goal, to be a guide to building and selling a business? Yes!

Robert Craven
Author, Grow Your Service Firm and Kick-Start Your Business: 100 Days to a Leaner, Fitter Organisation (Virgin Business Guides)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2012
This is a great read for anyone thinking about embarking on a business venture that is ultimately aiming at exiting at some point. Even if you just want to start a business for regular income, it still covers all the bases for you to achieve your goal. I think it's also important the author has successfully travelled the path a number of times himself.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
Starting a business is the easy bit. Building it up, running it, and managing the growth is where skill and experience are required. Many will stumble or lose their way in the process of building their business: this book offers both the first-time entrepreneur, and the seasoned owner/manager, an invaluable step-by-step guide through the process of building a successful and valuable enterprise, to increase the chances of securing an attractive exit. A must read for those setting out on their commercial journey or those looking to take their business to the next level.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)