Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
95
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£9.43+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2016
I'd forgotten just how good British drama was just a few years ago.
It's not until episode 2 that the produces allow you to know some of what is going on.
No idea if the intention was a never ending series, but they stopped and they stopped on a high.
There are so many side comments, subtext and killer throw away lines it's just outstanding.
Throw this into a weekend binge including in the flesh, being human and the misfits and you have some of the greatest tv over the past 7 years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2014
A wonderfully atmospheric experience that is slow to get going but, once started, keeps the tension and interest going.
Excellent acting for the most part.
The only down-side is that this is clearly the first part of something. But the BBC never did any subsequent series as far as I know.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2017
Spooky
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2015
Great series just a shame it ended after the first.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2011
Episode one of this six-part BBC3 series received a lukeawarm reception from the critics, but I stuck with it and I must say it has exceeded all expectations.

Four episodes in and while some people will of course be turned off by the fantasy element of the concept, I think it's quite brilliantly written. At times scary, sometimes genuinely hilarious and always intriguing with plenty of surprises and stand-out moments along the way, this has been a triumph for BBC3 and certainly the only series on that channel that has had me coming back for more.

There's some decent support from Tom Ellis and Daniela Nardini, and the lead in the role of Paul does a great job. But the star of the whole show is his wonderfully geeky friend Mac. The dialogue between the two friends is priceless and delivered superbly.

In terms of the plot, well as with all these things the less you know before viewing the better. So essentially, teenager Paul is having vivid apocalyptic nightmares. He is also seeing creepy beings out and about that no one else seems to be aware of. He discovers that these shadowy figures are in fact "Fades" or dead people that haven't ascended and are trapped on earth, unable to communicate with anyone, touch anything etc. Except certain particularly bitter and malevolent Fades have discovered a way to change this, which threatens the whole of mankind!!

Yes, it sounds totally barking and completely off-putting. I'm not into this kind of fantasy/good v evil stuff at all. But trust me it's done in a way that makes it seem scarily believable and once you buy into the concept you'll be hooked. I have to say I was expecting a show aimed solely at teens but I'm in my 30s and absolutely love it.

I'm quite hard to please with TV dramas and as a horror fan I certainly don't appreciate horror-lite - this however deserves a much wider audience. 10 out of 10.
22 Comments| 78 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2011
Due to band commitments all my episodes of The Fades sat in the Sky planner until today. Clocks back, wife in bed, extra hour to play with. I sat through all six episodes back to back and it was a treat. Great writing, well acted, dark, humorous, nice little nods to classic sci-fi and Mork and Mindy. Enjoyed this immensely. The BBC do this kind of thing so well. Quality. The Blu-Ray has to come out sooner than December 26th doesn't it?
P
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A glitch in the system, many dead denied access to what lies beyond. Instead they roam, an increasing threat to humans. These are the Fades. Angelics (who recognize a dead when they see one) strive to combat a growing problem - aware the world is rapidly heading for an "Us or Them" scenario.

Unexpectedly thrust into the midst of it all is seventeen year old Paul, hailed at school (and by his twin sister) as a freak and totally lacking self-confidence. Perplexed, he now learns he has extraordinary powers, and is sought by both Fades and Angelics to further their cause.

A low budget venture with much to praise, humour and horror skilfully intertwined. Iain De Gaestecker appeals as the harassed teen, never smiling (except in outtakes). Here is no male Buffy, fearlessly annihilating all enemies. He is scared, haunted by nightmares and daytime visions. So much is so weird. At one point he even sprouts wings! This loner has only one friend -film fanatic Mac. (Some may find the latter's almost non-stop flippancy somewhat wearisome - until realizing it his way of dealing with problems at home.)

Making particular impact is Joe Dempsie as a Fade reborn, he recognizing Paul as THE enemy who must be destroyed.

All is not what one might anticipate, this not simply Good versus Evil. Both sides represent a range of attitudes. Leading Angelic Neil would seem a hero, until a shocking act that totally alienates. Leading Fade would seem an out-and-out villain, until revelations about his past create sympathy.

No wonder Paul is so confused. Movingly he tries to rise to face challenges that threaten to overwhelm.

Cascading ash, plummeting birds, much gory feasting as Fades tear into flesh, many shocks - including a real startler out of the blue. All the way through, there is much to disturb - those of nervous disposition advised to stay well away.

Six hour long episodes. Bonuses include extra scenes (some between Paul and Mac very funny), deleted scenes (creators explaining why, most reluctantly, they had to go), explanations of key story strands.

No second season, despite acclaim. "The Fades" is one of those prematurely curtailed series, leaving viewers frustrated and craving more.

A modest cult classic that many fans of the genre will be happy to own.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2012
Having just finished watching the last episode I can honestly say that I thoroughly enjoyed this series from start to finish. It draws you in from the beginning showing one side of Paul's life as a somewhat awkward but adorable 17 year old boy, and the darker side of life that he quickly becomes embroiled in as he discovers who he really is. The evolution of Paul's character is unexpected but a refreshing change from the norm and the series constantly surprised me right up to the end. As a British show I think this gives some of the other biggies like The Walking Dead and Supernatural a run for their money, and yet is in a niche all of its own. This is definitely one for the collection to watch and enjoy time and again.

It seems absolutely criminal that there will not be a second series of this wonderfully british supernatural show!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2012
This Mini-Series is actually a "horror" jewel. I'm really hoping for a second season.

I've bought the Blu-Ray edition and while it doesn't feature many extras (just a look behinde the scenes, deleted scenes), picture & sound is top-notch.

This series is not a cheap rip-off as some claim. Especially it's no buffy clone. I wonder if these people even watched the series.

It tells a dark story and it features some nasty story twists. SFX, especially gore effects, are brilliant, others (e.g. Paul's angelic wings) are far off from being perfect. However it's always fun to watch and episodes 1-5 are a thrill-ride heading towards a drastic climax. IMHO episode 6 is the weakest. It's kinda open ended, even tho it features an end that's satisfying.

If you have a weak stomach... there's a lot of gore and some scenes are pretty drastic, however throughout the whole series there's some dark and twisted humor that keeps the series above the average.

I really loved the "story so far.." episode reviews by Paul's best friend. Anyway, give it a try if you are in for a good story, great actors and some drastic sfx ;-).. Looking forward for series 2.
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2012
I have fallen in love with British television. I took a chance and ordered this series and can't wait to see season 2. I was a little concerned with the blu ray play back. It's not the worst picture but the beginning and the dark sense are pretty bad. Watched it in 3d and it looked a lot better! Bravo BBC.
33 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse