Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
84
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 August 2005
Fun for adults and children, this is much better than I expected. The main characters are there, including the car, and they don't take themselves too seriously. There are good (in fact hilarious) jokes for the adults to enjoy. It moves at a decent pace, and there is a plot. Frequent references to drugs (cocaine) so watch out for kids. Bears repeated watchings. It's a bit like the Charlies Angels films (flash, easy on the eye) but with more adult material.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2016
Any movie that stars Ben Stiller, Owen Wilson, Will ferrell and Vince Vaughn together is always guaranteed to be really funny! I loved Zoolander, Wedding crashers, Old School so this movie was a must. I very much liked this film and found it funny, being a fan of the main cast in this movie I really wanted to watch it but never got round to it until a few months ago. You have Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson as Starsky and Hutch and Snoope dog as Huggie bear, there isn't really anything to dislike. A good comedy that never gets old.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2004
This could have all gone horribly wrong. When Hollywood gets its hands on the movie rights to a popular TV show, this is usually a good indiction of there being trouble on the horizon. Take an established comedy double act, a rapper with a penchant for faux-fur coats, and a talented director however, and you may just manage to pull off the impossible.
For those unfamiliar with the seventies cop show, Starsky and Hutch revolves around by-the-book, leather-jacket-wearing David Starsky (played in the film by Ben Stiller) and his partner, rough diamond Ken 'Hutch' Hutchinson (Owen Wilson). The film starts out with the two being thrown together as partners and forced to overcome their differences in order to bring down ruthless drug lord Reece Feldman (Vince Vaughn). With help from their friend, the hugely entertaining yet rather dubious character of Huggy Bear (Snoop Dogg), they make time for plenty of high-speed chases, visits to wig-makers and questionable dance routines. Bear this in mind upon viewing the film: it's cheesy as hell, but so, so funny.
The stunts in the film - particuarly those involving cars - are quite spectacular, and there is even a short section of out-takes at the end, showing how some of these stunts have gone wrong. The costumes, music, fashion, but most of all Ben Stiller's perm, all contribute towards making the viewer feel as though they have been propelled back in time to the decade of flower power. There are plenty of references to seventies technology and how ridiculous it now appears. Look out for the 'hidden' recording device worn by Huggy Bear; subtle it ain't. Talking of Mr Bear, as far as musicians-turned-actors go, the success rate has been minimal, and whilst Snoop Dogg isn't in line for any Oscars just yet, he possesses a decent acting ability all the same. It is the fantstic Stiller-Wilson partnership that makes the film however, and the two truly are superb in conveying the blooming friendship and tough life as a Bay City cop. They complement each other brilliantly, with Stiller the more serious of the pair and Wilson bringing a laid-back attittude to the film. I have viewed the film three times to date, and still find myself laughing aloud. There's bound to be a sequel in the pipeline, and I for one can't wait.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2007
The big-screen adaptation with Ben Stiller (as Starsky) and Owen Wilson as (Hutch) spoofs everything the TV show took so seriously, and to good effect. In this outing, we find out how the duo became partners, and why. It seems both are misfits, with the opposing personality traits of the originals exaggerated to an almost-impossible level, giving them a very high-energy odd-couple buddy vibe as they chase aspiring drug kingpin Reese Feldman (Vaughn). Of course, Huggy Bear is there to assist (in the person of Snoop Dogg, who is spot-on). Stiller and Wilson have this act down, and they never linger on a gag too long. One of the better 70s spoofs is Paul Michael Glaser and David Soul have a quick cameo at the end.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Starsky and Hutch is more fun than it has any right to be, even if it does depart from the series in many ways. Stiller has Paul Michael Glaser's mannerisms down to a tee (he even has Glaser's bizarre run, like a hyperactive duck doing a windmill impersonation, down to perfection) but otherwise is another of his trademark anal neurotics while Owen Wilson takes Hutch even further away as a laid back dude not above a spot of robbery to supplement his salary. But it is funny, good natured and doesn't outstay its welcome too much. The only real bum note is giving the final glory to Snoop's terrible Huggy Bear, a charmless, boring and lazy performance constantly outshone by his own bodyguards.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2004
Fortunately I rented this, rather than buying it - Owen Wilson and Ben Stiller are completely wasted, wrestling with a peurile script and a two dimensional supporting cast. Only Snoop Dogg's excellent performance elevates this DVD from appalling to merely very bad - but unfortunately he simply doesn't have enough screen time to make a significant difference. The "humour" is crass and predictable, and more likely to inspire cringes than laughter. In short, don't waste your money on this, but if you do decide to buy it, do not expect it to resemble the TV series in any way, other than the title and the names of the characters.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2004
I went to watch this movie with my mates, and i can honestly say it was very very funny, and some scenes were incredibly funny. i thought i had to get the DVD and am pleased to say its just as funny the first time i saw it. The DVD comes with loads of extra features including interviews, out takes, deleted scenes and a lot more. Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson work great together in their all movies, and it would be great to see these two in another movie, becuase i dont think they could have picked a better partnership. this is an excellent movie of 2004 and at a great price here at amazon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2011
I was fascinated when this movie with Owen Wilson and Ben Stiller based on the iconic 70s tv series was first released, and as a big fan of the original I couldn't wait to see it.

This movie was clearly made deliberately as a comedy film, and as such it certainly works. It had me chuckling all the way through, although half the time I was laughing at the stupidity of the main characters rather than anything else. This film is worth seeing and even worth owning provided you are not expecting it to become a revival of the classic series. As a standalone film on its own merits, it rates a four and a half stars, because Stiller and Wilson are very funny. Stiller is frighteningly Starsky-like in many scenes. Wilson's version of Hutch was very funny and creative, but nothing like David Soul, so if that is what you are looking for here....forget it.

In my opinion, if this film had been made as a serious drama with comedy, it would work a lot better, because I would be able to take the two lead characters seriously, whereas as they stand I wouldn't trust them even to escort my granny across the road! That being said this film is hugely entertaining, and the new Huggy Bear character is brilliant.

I have given this film three stars rather than four simply because I felt that characters themselves have lost a lot of the original appeal through being turned into full-blown comedy characters, but all the same buy this film and laugh out loud!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2004
Old school, Zoolander, American pie..... If you like these movies you willabsolutley love Starsky and Hutch the movie. I have never seen the TVseries but I will without doubt buy this DVD as it is easily the funniestmovie to be released this year. From start to finish you will be institches at the antics of the two maddest cops on the force. Once againif you have a sense of humour buy this DVD.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2007
I can see from the previous reviews that there are obviously a lot of fans of the 1970s series with hurt feelings regarding this movie. Honestly, I haven't ever watched the 70s series (Although my Mum raves about how great it was!), so I can't really compare the two, but Starsky & Hutch: The Movie deserves a lot more credit than is given for just how funny it is.

I always enjoy Ben Stiller/Owen Wilson/Vince Vaughan/ Will Ferrel films- and Starksy & Hutch is utterly hilarious: The pair's relationship and their obvious differences, the scrapes they get themselves into (and out of) and the subtleties of casting and script. Snoop Dog deserves credit for his cameo as Huggy Bear, and Vince Vaughan clearly enjoyed himself playing a villain with a perm.

The script and the way it is played out by the actors is the film's strong point- there are so many witty one-liners in this film, I've lost count. Ben Stiller is spot on as square, uptight and law-abiding Strasky, and Owen Wilson is such a lazy loveable rogue as Hutch- Watch it if only for fun's sake.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)