Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 30 September 2011
The Smiths soundtracked my mid 1980s. At the time, I lived with a Smiths fanatic who discovered them having seen them support The Fall at the Rock Garden, London in 1983. He corresponded with Morrissey during their early years, and diligently recorded each radio Session, therefore my indoctrination into the wonderful world of The Smiths was complete before they'd even released a record. The Smiths were, of course, completely wonderful. At the time they were a breath of fresh air and, in common with an extremely short list of artists, didn't put a foot wrong during their far-too-short lifespan. Needless to say, I bought every album and every single on the day of release, and saw them live on many occasions. So, as you'll realise, I am very familiar with these songs, love each and every one of them, and regard them as old friends.

That said, until yesterday - when my copy of this box set arrived - I only ever owned these recordings on vinyl. Each album has been remastered by Johnny Marr. I am not much of an audiophile, but the sound is great. The original production on the first album was a let down - and the new mix is the revelation here. It has been transformed. The bass and drums are now to the fore and it's a much more satisfying listen and a big improvement. Hatful Of Hollow, the collection of BBC radio sessions, also sounds better - more vital and slightly beefier. I cannot discern any great difference on the other albums - suffice it to say, and you probably won't need me to tell you this, they all still sound splendid. A wonderful, wonderful pop group the like of which only comes once in a generation.

The packaging was always important to the band and was another of the many factors that contributed to their excellence. I'm delighted to say that the each of the albums looks great - presented in a cardboard reproduction of the original release. The inner sleeves of the vinyl releases have been reproduced too which adds to the loveliness of the package. The free poster that came with Rank is even included.

This is the best £30.47 I've spent all year. That's £3.81 per album. Whether you consider that good value may depend on whether you've already bought these albums on CD, but for this long-time fan it's the bargain of the year. Come back to the old house. You'll thank me.
22 Comments| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 October 2011
This is a very welcome release by Rhino that collects together all of the albums released by The Smiths during or just after their relatively short life span. Containing the four studio albums, three compilations and a live album, the music, for most people, needs little or no introduction. This box set really does remind the listener how timeless their music was and how totally unique and original the Morrissey & Marr song writing partnership was. Also, they were that rarest of bands that released stunning albums and equally stunning singles. And their fanbase never had to wait too long for new music - they were forever releasing non-album singles between albums and this is partly why the 'Hatful of Hollow' and 'The World Won't Listen' compilations were released while the band were still active.

If the truth be told, there isn't too much discernible difference between these remasters and the CD re-issues of the 1990s. It is an improvement, particularly on their eponymous debut, and there is generally (but not always) more space and definition between the instruments. Overall the frequency range is higher but sound quality is in no way compromised to favour a loud mix as can sometimes be the case with remasters. But, I wouldn't get too excited about the remastering - the songs, essentially, sound exactly as they always did.

All eight CD covers are exact mini replicas of the original vinyl releases, right down to the stickers and the inlay sleeves. Four of them have gatefold sleeves just like the originals and even the artwork on the CDs themselves is identical to that found on the original vinyl LPs. Housed in a sturdy cardboard case and accompanied by a booklet (albeit very brief for a career encompassing collection), the attention to detail is exceptional. In total there are 111 tracks with a playing time of 6 hours & 35 minutes, although there is some repetition given the inclusion of the three compilation albums.

It's not quite the complete Smiths - there are a couple of single only tracks missing. In summary, this is a worthwhile purchase for fans and newcomers alike and reconfirms that The Smiths were indeed the best, most consistent and prolific band of their generation. It also represents excellent value too.
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2011
This remastered set is quite as stunning as most other reviewers have found it. The sound quality is great, the packaging superb - who stuck all the very tiny replica mini stickers on the facsimile sleeves in just the right places, I wonder? All that was missing for me was the individual small detail no one would want to replicate - the rather warped record that was the first album for me after I placed it too close to a heat source, the oily thumbprints on the sleeve of 'The Queen Is Dead', my personal favourite still after all this time. For years, with the vinyl predecessors of these pop classics mouldering away in my loft, I was resistant to lashing out more money on the same old sounds even if I had nothing to play 'em on and was starting to get withdrawal symptoms. This set is sure to appeal to those, like me, of a middle aged and impecunious disposition. It is incredible value. Why bother just buying two or three of these classic albums when you could have the lot for so little? I am only glad my will of iron held out and I never bought any Smiths' product on CD until now because this is the set of my dreams! These tunes still sound fresh and original. Who knows, this could be the set that finally has Morrissey recognised in his own green and pleasant as the Colossus of popular culture he truly is. Well, maybe not. Reassuringly, some things never change. One and a dog to Salford Lads' Club, please.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 September 2011
When I revisit these songs, nothing has changed; I still get shivers at the beauty of `There Is A Light', can't help grooving in my lazy boy chair when I hear the rubbery bass line of `Barbarism Begins At Home', feel nostalgic before my time listening to `Rubber Ring' and uncomfortable yet fixated when sitting through `Suffer Little Children'. I've spun all the studio albums this morning for the first time in years, and the good news is they all hold up remarkably well. `The Smiths' is a debut that's lyrical and musical beauty is only enhanced by its minimalist, despairing feel. `Meat Is Murder' still rocks out physically and moves you emotionally in equal measure. `The Queen Is Dead' is still a masterpiece. `Strangeways' is still a jangly and underrated, full of hooks and great guitar work. Of course, The Smiths were just as much about the B-Sides and singles that didn't make it to the album, and they're all here in their various permutations, spruced up and sounding great.

So the music is still wonderful, that should surprise nobody. The boxset itself? Well, let's just say I wished I could afford the £250 deluxe set, with all the vinyl and notes and extras. There's nothing wrong with this box, but it feels painfully low budget compared to the sprawling, deluxe package, which I guess is the point. All the vinyl sleeves are repeated here in miniature, and you even get the poster with Rank, so it's still nicely put together. One disappointment is the lack of sleeve notes, with just a small booklet with a short piece. Still, not sure you can complain about the price.

The remastering is a mixed bag. If this doesn't sound better than the old vinyl, where the warmth and depth of the music still shines through the most, there's a worthwhile improvement on the original CD releases. The bass lines seem more rubbery, the drums have more power, and everything has a more modern sheen to it. They've even managed to clean up the first album a bit, which is either a good or bad thing depending on your opinion on the particularly divisive production job that adorned it at the time. The mixes aren't perfect; sometimes there's too much top, and the vocals are occasionally buried too low with the drums too high. I won't go into individual tracks, but essentially it's a cleaner sound, not improving the depth or separation significantly but sounding very much like a more modern production of the individual records, without being the radical improvement you saw on The Beatles' remastered set. Given the low budgets for these albums, this is probably the best you'll get them to sound in the digital age.

For the price, you can't really go wrong here. For a newcomer to the band, this is a godsend, a way to discover their catalogue concisely and thoroughly, and the inclusion of three separate compilations that often overlap may seem a little overwhelming, I can wholeheartedly recommend this box as the best way to hear this band on CD or MP3. Lyrically, there's never been anyone better than Morrissey, and the songs manage to be catchy, moving, emotional, groovy, euphoric and sad in equal measure. And you have pretty much everything they ever released here, save for the odd couple of songs.

To people who already own the albums, you might be better served getting the expensive package if you can afford it, as while this is a nice set, the improvements, especially if you already own the vinyl, aren't so dramatic to make this essential.
11 Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
This is the complete Smiths albums (4 studio albums, 3 compilations of B-sides and single only releases, and the live album 'Rank') all in mini LP style retro packaging in a fold open box with a little booklet. The CD's all have original inner sleeves and are gatefold where applicable. Rank even has the mini poster that originally came with the LP. The booklet contains a simple but nice overview of the bands career. This is a great set but it's getting harder to find new. If you can pick one up for a reasonable price second hand (as I did) it's well worth it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 11 June 2013
Very pleased with this box set, having had all the discs on vinyl but finally getting round to completing my (ok Katie..we can share) Smiths CD collection. As expected the CDs come in cardboard slip covers but with the original artwork. Quite happy with that as the overall box size is quite small and for around £3 a disc who's complaining.

If you're new to the Smiths beware there are several duplicate tracks on the discs what with their record company's penchant for a compilation but some different and excellent live versions so it's not all bad.

Nuff said, this is a great chance to own the entire discography of one of the UK's greatest bands for a bargain price and would make a great gift for somebody's Unhappy Birthday. What, no tacky badge ??
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2012
If The Smiths are news to you then don't hesitate to buy this remasters box set as its probably the best £30 you will spend on something to keep and enjoy(especially when you see how much you are getting compared to a round of drinks or half a tank of petrol!). Beautiful sound quality , crisp, clean- revealing details slightly muffled in previous versions but without overdoing it.And very nicely presented/packaged with the detail in Album sleeves and box.
If, however, you are knocking on 50 years old and have all the other vinyl,12" singles, collections and CD versions ..........then still buy it as it is probably the most enjoyable £30 you will spend and is guaranteed to put a smile on your face.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 September 2012
This looks beautiful, nicely boxed, mini LPs (although imitation vinyl CDs would have been nice). It's a perfect collection too, and I know there are a few B-side tracks missed but people who have not heard The Smiths before will certainly get the gist. Or will they? I've been listening to The Smiths before remastering, at least every month of every year for 26 years and I've grown up with the pre-digitalised versions. Hatful of Hollow in particular sounds too smooth for 1980's BBC sessions, the whole box set sounds too produced. Older listeners may perhaps/will probably enjoy their Rough Trade vinyl and CDs more - I do. I urge people finding The Smiths or people who have enjoyed this box set to seek out the pre-digital versions. I can't give The Smiths anything lower than 4 stars, enjoy this; but get the real thing. Sorry Jonny Marr (Repackage.. etc)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2011
Good news for Smiths fans: these long-overdue remasters are a genuine improvement over the "brickwalled" disaster of 2008's "The Sound Of The Smiths" compilation. Perhaps inevitably, they are louder than the previous WEA editions, but they are also richer and tighter, with considerably more bottom end.

The BBC session tracks on "Hatful Of Hollow" are particularly powerful. As trite as it sounds, listening to the newly-polished "What Difference Does It Make" or "Reel Around The Fountain" really is the nearest you will get to being in the same room as The Smiths. Yet perhaps the most revelatory of all the albums is "Strangeways Here We Come". The anaemic mastering of the previous CD issue is replaced by a beautifully open and solid soundstage which allows the final "rockier" incarnation of the band to shine through. "Death Of A Disco Dancer", "I Started Something..." and "Last Night I Dreamt..." are especially authoritative.

But it's not all bombast. A myriad of subtler details emerge time and again across these albums. Marr's fingerpicking on the achingly beautiful acoustic version of "Back To The Old House" has never sounded so crystalline. The synthesized strings throughout "The Queen Is Dead" now have considerably more depth. It's thrilling to hear tracks you've listened to for so many years suddenly offer up a wealth of secrets.

The slight downside, to these ears, is a certain over-emphasis on the high frequencies. I found this particularly noticeable on the eponymous debut, where Mike Joyce's hi-hats occasionally sound quite shrill. This is also evident on other "bright" tracks such as "I Want The One I Can't Have" and "Cemetry Gates". These CDs are not "brickwalled" but could have been allowed a little more room to breathe. Ultimately, though, the aforementioned improvements will likely be enough of a trade-off for most listeners.

The mini-vinyl CD replicas restore the original album artwork for the first time, including the inner slip-cases, original front cover stickers and the free poster issued with "Rank". They are not quite as well rendered as similar Japanese mini vinyls. Typically with these scaled-down editions, text size can be comically small, leaving many of the lyrics indecipherable. Those minor caveats aside, these are a vast improvement over the nasty old plastic CD cases with the cropped artwork. "Hatful Of Hollow", "The Queen Is Dead", "Louder Than Bombs" and "Rank" are all gatefolds. The discs themselves replicate the original vinyl labels.

It's well worth investing in this wonderfully-priced box, with each album costing considerably lower than the average individual re-release. Don't let the lack of a couple of 12" tracks or rarities put you off. This is still indispensible. If you've never fully delved into the world of The Smiths, or are considering getting reacquainted, this fantastic box set is all you'll really need.
99 Comments| 86 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2011
OK so its not vinyl, but the dozens of songs remastered here sound better than I ever recall them doing, with a richness and depthness that Johnny and Stephen deserve. Loads of stuff I previously didn't have although I have quite a few Smiths albums, and all of it towering in its genius. Listening to it in work where the day wasn't going that well anyway has made me feel well sorry for myself and a bit forlorn - so it still works too ! Even if you've got most of these its well worth a round of drinks in a London pub for the pleasure of this collection. Or just buy the ones you haven't got. Everyone's a winner. Oh and I forgot to mention the live tracks - worth it just for them.......sound quality excellent and a real testament to how very good a band they were live. I saw them Freshers Week at Pompey Union. Gladioli everywhere !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)