Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 11 May 2015
Season four of Angel continues a tradition of excellent story telling with great performances from the cast and intriguing twists and turns in the elaborate plots from the writers. The special effects are of the highest quality and make the impossible seem real with great make up, sets, props, camera work and a stellar cast to boot. Joss Whedon's team are like a family who gel perfectly to create a big budget movie feel on a T.V. program level which is no mean feat! I have been a fan of Buffy The Vampire Slayer and Angel since the inception of the shows because the shows have something for fans of all ages. The show deals with social issues like poverty, inequality, discrimination, corporate corruption, heroism, exploitation, terror, self reliance, charity and other philosophical endeavours and uses the context of monsters to play out ethical scenarios in a humorous, heart warming, dramatic and in depth manner. Many people knocked the shows until they actually sat and watched and episode and most of them changed their minds because of the overall quality that Joss Whedon and co had achieved and became fans themselves. In a time of "Reality T.V." Angel and Buffy The Vampire Slayer DVDs are a perfect way to spend a rewarding evening at home with friends and family enjoying top notch entertainment that is intelligent and thought provoking. If you are tired of sub standard T.V. treat yourself and your loved ones to Angel DVD sets that will bring you pleasure for many years to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2014
I bought this boxset just under 10 years ago, and have recently re-bought it as after lending it to a friend and it came back with discs missing (I won't be lending to this friend again!). Firstly the new packaging is very nice. I have the original box-style cases which takes up about 250% more space than "normal" DVD cases. This one is sleek and just a tad wider than a "normal" DVD case so takes up a great deal less room. Unfortunately I am now pondering re-buying the entire series in this format for consistency,

The series itself is an absolute must. Out of the 5 seasons of Angel this is my second favourite after season 3. The story arc running throughout is very tense and dark but still with the trademark Joss Whedon comedy throughout. The Angel series was always, and still is, a more adult version of Buffy and is an absolute must for Buffy fans!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2016
I am a fan of the Angel series in general [seasons 1-3 I give 5 stars], but I loathed this 4th series as it's really an ongoing story which is in part a soap opera in which all of the key characters behave out of character. It's a mess of a season, and I found Angel's son to be an extremely tedious character. A big thumbs down for the writers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2013
First of all, Zoverstocks sent this product in excellent quality very quickly. Top marks.

The series itself is another example of Joss Whedon and Co's ability to produce such awesome material even when things have gone a bit wrong conceptually. The reason I add this last is that the ill-considered character of Angel's son continues to sit awkwardly in the setting despite Vincent Kartheiser's determined attempts to make sense of him. I wonder if Whedon regretted creating this character at all - he bumps about in a fairly contrived way for the entire season before being retconned out at the end. This might sound like I'm whining, but actually I'm trying to praise the makers of the show. Having written themselves into a corner, they do their damnedest to pull it back.

The three highlights of this season can be easily identified as Angel, Wesley and Faith. As ever, the colossal presence of Boreanaz delivers the noble but dangerous Angel to perfection, with the added treat that for several episodes Angel's evil alter-ego Angelus rampages across LA, spitting one-liners and breaking heads. Boreanaz seems keen to capitalise on previous suggestions that Angel and Angelus are not 'versions' of each other but distinct personalities. He even affects different mannerisms and a different accent for Angelus. And to be frank, Angelus is funny - his scenes are laden with very black humour, an element which Boreanaz introduced with the brief surfacing of Angelus in season 1.

Wesley and Faith create a wonderful inversion. The murderous, sultry femme fatale Faith is back, reformed sober (and still sultry). The once comical and dithering Wesley has become the most deadly and ruthless character in the entire canon (his preference for fire-arms is very telling given Whedon's noticeable disdain for guns in the series). There's a fantastic scene where Wesley brutally interrogates a witness whilst an ashen faced Faith watches in astonishment.

Ironically, the story for this season is fairly simple and not hugely original. But it doesn't matter: between the excellent performances and dynamic directing, this season's worthwhile for all Whedon fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 March 2015
Hi very nice boxsets , the bible Addison of angel these ones r the best . Anyone who likes Angel or Buffy do by these dvd boxsets though go though a contract seller as u will get the new covers not that good the new covers , buy these
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 December 2012
I avoided Buffy and Angel for years thinking it was only meant for kids How wrong I was and after just a few episodes became a fan. Well written and fun as we have come to expect from Joss Whedon but I have to confess to liking it more when Spike shows up and, of course, the lovely and sorely missed Andy Hallett as Lorne! If you liked Buffy then you just have to get the Angel series if only for the wonderful bit where Spike is observing Angel saving a wench and the screechingly funny running commentary he gives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 July 2017
GREAT PURCHASE I AM VERY HAPPY WITH THIS ITEM
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2013
Personally, I feel that even though Angel was the spin off show, it was far superior to Buffy as it was a more mature & dealt with darker themes, carried through with Wheadon's wit & clever humour in strong characterisations...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 February 2014
Excellent box set of a very interesting and engaging series. David Boreanaz is excellent (as ever). Despite being about Vampires it will appeal to anyone who likes a mystery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2013
David Boreanaz is hot, as simple as that.
After finishing "Buffy", I had to buy "Angel" too. I have to say I liked "Buffy" better, but lots of action and super natural beings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse