Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
20
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 July 2006
Well it did, prior to this I was listening to Queen's 'Greatest Hits', 'Genesis' by Genesis, Rush's '2112' and Scorpions 'World Wide Live'. Dear God, what was I thinking. Basically I hadn't heard 'my' music yet, only my friends taste in it, hence the appalling selection above. This all changed when my best friend Lee bought this album and I listened to it in his bedroom. Quite simply it blew me away. This is the moment, a moment all music lovers have, which I can point to and say 'there, it all started there'. I could bore you with a long list of namechecked bands but I won't, suffice to say that this album and this band led me to exciting new places.

The music itself? Well, I understand that it has just been re-issued and re-mastered which says a lot in itself. It still sounds great, perfect pop underneath a torrent of guitar and drums, fresh as ever, youth captured and held. It deserves its standing as one of the finest debut albums of recent times. What else is there to say but buy it!
22 comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
£22+ for this, brand new, vinyl reissue on 180g. Which is filthy as hell, and warped on one side.

Great music, but the quality control on offer here is amongst the worst out there for vinyl.
review image
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2011
utter classic. file next to velvet underground and nico,Raw power,never mind the bollocks,etc. For some its hard to get into at first but worth perciverance. i played this to death at the time and still love it. this album is one of the best ever made. a wonderful noise indeed. the extras are good but i still love it in it's vinyl form, perfection is hard to improve on. it kicks ass and has influence every decent band since it's release, make no mistake you can not go wrong this record is probably one of the best ever.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2007
1985 and i just bought upside down(which sadly doesnt feature on this album,maybe because murray dalglish is on drums)i thought this is incredible so when this finally came out later in the year i was straight there to get this the day it came out and i can still see why i got excited/this is quite simply one of the best albums ever made(and certainly the best thing the vastly over rated bobby gillespie has ever done)right from the start with just like honey brooding setting the tone of pop song with an edge/pefectly welding melody with distortion and feedback/as on taste the floor and you trip me up to the subtler sowing seeds/i played this non stop when it came out and it still gets the occasional airing and i think it stands up well to the test of time/if you are new to the jamc get this or barbed wire kisses as everything else from darklands and onwards is sadly a complete waste of time/they should have given up after this and left a legacy of having made one of the most influential guitar albums of all time
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2011
Memories came flooding back - the music and the experience of the early gigs. If you're a fan, you've probably got most of this in different places, but it's great to have decent copies of it all. I thoroughly recommend this, the J&MC's finest hours.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2012
Better sound with this release, louder, maybe compressed?

I would have preferred the lp on its own on disc one, with the b-sides on the bonus disc instead of the demos which I don't really care for

At least Some Candy Talking has been rightfully removed

Glorious
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Jesus & Mary Chain's debut album, now re-released in re-mastered form with former bonus track `Some Candy Talking' removed, remains their definitive album and their greatest achievement. Everything that followed didn't quite measure up, though if you have all the albums and compilations, you can discover later joys such as `Here Comes Alice', `Sidewalking', `Sometimes Always', `Cracking Up' & `Heat' (the latter bizarrely turning up in an advert and was later retitled `Teenage Lust' in relation to an MC5 song and a Larry Clark book of photographs).

The Mary Chain just happened rumour has it their demos were on a tape which had Syd Barrett on one side and them on the other, Bobby Gillespie (The Wake) listened to it and got Alan McGee involved and some Malcolm McClaren-style marketing later, they were the next controversial band. The Reid brothers wrote the material and were joined by Douglas Hart (bass) and Gillespie (Moe Tucker-style drumming), and with this album set the template for many bands over the following years - The House of Love, Ultra Vivid Scene, Primal Scream (who would cover `Darklands' and have Reid sing on `Evil Heat'), The Stone Roses, Ride, The Brian Jonestown Massacre, Teenage Fanclub, The Vaselines, My Bloody Valentine, The Heart Throbs, Spacemen 3, Moose, Curve, Chapterhouse, Slowdive, The Boo Radleys, Brakes (who covered `Sometimes Always'), the Black Rebel Motorycle Club, The Kills, Singapore Sling & AR Kane. Predictably some of these acts would surpass the Mary Chain, but this album is key and as significant as `Revolver', `Never Mind the Bollocks', or `Never Mind.' It should be considered along those indisputable and influential classics and I can happily report it still stands up these days.

The Mary Chain nodded to lots of bands who were out of critical favour in the 1980s - the Velvets, The MC5, The Stooges, The Elevators; as well as having songs as perfect as early Beach Boys or prime-Spector. It's all classic, there are no bad songs here, and it seems wrong that this came below Ride's `Nowhere' in the NME 100 Best Albums feature a month or so ago!

Hard to single out tracks, but opener `Just Like Honey', which was memorably featured in the dénouement of `Lost in Translation', is certainly one. `In a Hole' and `Inside Me' sound like the Velvets informed by The Birthday Party and Joy Division, while songs like `Taste of Cindy', `Never Understand', `The Hardest Walk', & `You Trip Me Up' are certainly pop songs. And great ones at that. The gorgeous `Cut Dead' showcases a sweeter, acoustic side and would be the template for `Stoned and Dethroned' several years later. The double-whammy of `The Living End' (whose title was borrowed for the controversial film of the same name) and `Taste the Floor' seems to epitomise the album - waves of feedback, a killer melody and just the right side of rock'n'roll clichés. `Psychocandy' is a great, great album and one of those wild feedback-drenched rock'n'roll albums from the era that need to be owned ; the others being - The Gun Club's `Fire of Love', Spacemen 3's `Sound of Confusion', My Bloody Valentine's `Isn't Anything', Pussy Galore's `Dial M for Mother*ucker', Ultra Vivid Scene's 1988 debut, & Loop's `Heaven's End.' A very welcome reissue from a band that deserve to be remembered, despite the mediocrity of much of their subsequent back-catalogue.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2016
I had to re-order the original copy of Psychocandy as some of the tracks were faulty. Unfortunately the second copy was also faulty, with different tracks being un-playable. It was dissapointing as this was a birthday present.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Inspired by The Velvet Underground and perhaps also The Cure, The J&M Chain made feedback and distortion an integral part of their wall of sound, creating a unique and distinctive niche in rock music. It was in the way they did it - the distortion never sounds intrusive or discordant but complements the detached vocals for a cohesive music of eerie beauty.

In this crucial way the music differs from most of the output of the industrial genre, in that it has a trance-like, hypnotic quality. My favorite tracks on this seminal album include Just Like Honey, The Living End, The Hardest Walk, Sowing Seeds, My Little Underground and the sublime You Trip Me Up, a poignant blend of the tender and the ominous.

Psychocandy is a successful experiment in blending feedback with melody, creating atmospheric and always tuneful soundscapes that linger in the mind. Those who like Mercury Rev or My Bloody Valentine will love this classic album which takes rock music to places it's never been before.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2008
Influenced by the guitar sound of The Stooges and The Velvet Undeground-like vocals the Reid brothers made this stunning record and so they set the bar for Noise pop and indie-rock to come. I have yet to come over anything more original and stunning than this from it's genre.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.49
£9.99
£6.49

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)