Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 March 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed this book.
The scenarios, characterizations, and the techno forward thinking are superior quality.
I look forward to reading the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2017
Fast paced, technologically advanced and wide ranging across space. A great read and thoroughly recommended. Looking forward to meeting the person Eric is afraid of in the next instalment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2017
Great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2016
remins me of old fashioned si-fi
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2015
Really enjoyed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
Could not pit it down Very good read really enjoyed it looking forward to reading the rest of them ,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
Enjoyable read, not too unrealistic which helps
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
This book suffers from what should be called `pseudo educated writing'. This is where the author thinks he is being clever but, in reality, is just chucking stuff into the mix, hoping it works.

For the most part it doesn't work and only serves to add to the amount of pages rather than add to the story itself. In fact, it goes to eroding the story, with the nonsensical pseudo tech that is chucked in with abandon.

The author has done little in the way is inventing technology so relies upon tachyon particles to explain almost everything, which it ripped straight from Star Trek.

To any science fiction fan you need a believable amount of technology; here it simply isn't there and as such the wiz bangs are just confusing fizzles.

The other thing is the explanations about the ordnance used. Bullets and torpedoes have the same tedious, drawn out descriptions, all of them similar in nature; a projectile is spat out of the gun / ship then accelerates with little winglets appearing etc etc etc None of this is required but the author has a tiresome penchant for describing this nonsense, slowing down the story even more. The author also has absolutely no idea what he is talking about because wings are useless in space!

And that nonsense about not enough energy to fire the torpedoes was complete garbage when compared to the authors tedious explanation of how they worked! Contradicting yourself with your own made up tech is lazy.

The other aspect are the space fight scenes, of which there is an abundance. The author goes to explain the distances to targets in light seconds. Now, light travels at such a speed that a light second, in terms of distance, is 186, 200 miles. The moon is only 1.2 light seconds away from the earth.
Given these figures the author describes dogfights in space as target being 6 light seconds - 20 light seconds away etc, etc, ad infinitum et nauseum. The problem is that an aircraft the size of a normal fast jet would never be able to distinguish, never mind target, an object of similar size more than three times the distance of the moon away, yet the author chucks this stuff in with absolutely no idea what he is talking about.

Another annoyance is this insistence of adding stuff where there is no point whatsoever. The addition of the original bridge location, for example, is referred to several times then, during the last space battle, is used to transfer staff to. Several pages are used to describe how the second in command was there with some staff, watching the space battle. The second in command has a strange feeling that he just cannot shake.

This is never realised! This feeling is not confirmed, nor proven, nor are the staff in the standby bridge used, at all in the battle.

So why add it?

Oh, yes, because Star Trek has a battle bridge in the Next Generation version of the Enterprise!! That, I suspect, is the only reason.

The ship ran out of ammo because, as the author explains, this is a first mission so therefore wasn't battle ready. Forgive me but earth has absolutely no knowledge of alien races. They do not know anyone exists out there. So why, on an experimental first in the history of mankind space ship, do a space jump with ammo on board? Ridiculous.

It was a chore to read with no character development, just moaning about speeds whilst docking and nonsense about drugging those who you rescue so they are not affected by the "transition", which is ripped from Starship Troopers.

Pure waffle with pseudo science.

If you're going to create science at least make it believable, this was just wrong on so many levels. I won't be reading, nor recommending, the other books in the series and having read the synopses of them I am glad.
33 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
Well. I don't know where to start. This plot isn't science fiction, it is science fiction, fiction . It starts with the captain entering an experimental ship for a shake down cruise, get this, they are about to depart, and he doesn't even know his way around his own ship. The crew are all new and don't know each other. He hasn't even bothered to study the crew files before departure.
Anyway,off they go to the Centauri system, bearing in mind this is a first for humanity, they don't even bother studying the system, but set off again following a mysterious signal, apparently an SOS, I mean,,, oh don't forget this is a shake down cruise, with apparently not a single glitch in the entire ship.
So they arrive in the new system, now tens of light years from home with no way back if something goes wrong on there new experimental ship, to find a debris field from a recently fought battle. The captain decides to enter a life pod himself, yes I 'm talking about the man supposedly
in in charge of the mission, and rescue a human female. So he finds a human female in a life pod tens of light years from Earth, and expresses not the slightest surprise, concern or curiosity. He then decides to follow a trail leading out of the system, before even talking to the only survivor of a major battle, in his new untested experimental ship. That is as far as I got Goodbye and good night.
22 Comments| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
An interesting enough space opera marred by sloppy writing, as is all too often with Kindle books. I was engaged enough to buy and read the follow on books, though I do wish this author would get an editor. The book is littered with incorrect words, correctly spelt but not the right meaning ('elliptic' instead of 'ecliptic', in some places but not all, so he obviously knows the right word). Sometimes word order and sentence construction is poor, so I found myself having to read a sentence a couple of times or more to get the drift. For me this really spoiled the enjoyment of the read, which is a pity as otherwise the storyline shows promise.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse