Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 18 September 2016
PROs: Steams vegetable using existing pans. Metal petals hold the veg in place. Add a cm of water to your pan, cover, bring it to the boil, lower steamer into pan, cover again - and in 5 minutes (for carrots and brocolli, longer for some other veg) you have crisp cooked veg with all the goodness in. Easy to use steam, easy to clean after use, and small to store. Recommend a pan with a clear lid so you can see when the water is boiling and a timer to remind you when finished. Oh, and and oven glove to save your fingers.

CONS: This model has a metal ring to help lift the steamer in and out. Others have plastic handle instead. You'll therefore need oven gloves to take this out. This method also risks ruining your plans if you don't use a timer as if you forget about it the water can evaporate completely. Saying that, we've been using it without problem for years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2012
I bought this having used one at a friends hose in the UK. The steamer is great for steaming vegetables for two, for greater amounts I would use a second one. At the price getting two is a no brainer. My friend puts carrots in the water underneath the steamer and the other vegetables in the steamer. He can cook for three using that method. I just bought another one.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2017
This steamer isn't very good quality in my opinion. It wasn't long before a couple of the 'petals' kept falling out when I was washing it (I never put it in the dishwasher) and the rod in the centre was very wobbly and made it almost impossible to lift out of a pan. There are much better steamers out there for not much difference in price so I wouldn't buy this again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2015
haven't used it yet - it;s taken a while to open it. For others who have one delivered like ours - a mini space ship with no obvious holes - other instructions tell you to put finger in the hole and pull outwards. Ours didn't exactly have a hole as it was blocked by what turned out to be the ring from the handle blocking one, but a nail file or some such will work, then pull out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 July 2017
This steamer is so simple to use and very effective when laid on the top of other vegetables in a saucepan. Everything is done to perfection and once you work out the times needed for each they all finish at the same time, ready to eat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 December 2016
Having it adjustable is very useful so you can fit it in various sized pots. However, because it has overlapping parts cleaning is a bit more effors & careful the edges are not perfectly blunt (having said that, it is not really sharp either - you need quite a bit of presure to cut yourself).
An additional tool to lift it out of the pot when it's still hot would be useful (but you can use e.g. a fork).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2015
We have only used this for 1 month, and the centre rod with ring has come off. The threads are too worn out to be put back on. There is rust forming too, and we must soon throw the whole thing away. Very bad deal. DON'T BUY!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2017
Cheap as chips, goes in the dishwasher, doesn't take up as much room as a steamer pot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2016
This replaces an identical steamer which I used until it fell apart. It looks as though it will last for years, same as the last one did. A kitchen essential.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2016
Disappointed with the quality as the one we had was much better and cheaper. Thought for the price it wouldn't have been as flimsy. Time will tell if it lasts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)