Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
474
4.2 out of 5 stars
50 Words for Snow
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 19 February 2016
Bought as follow-up to the incredible "Aerial." Not as mindblowingly wonderful as that - but still quality Kate...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Another great album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2017
Stunning Stuff
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
Great album, I'd never heard of it until a friend showed me the album cover she bought as a print!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2014
Kate Bush still amazes, this is just perfect genious from the shy artist
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2014
A Great Kate Bush album....added to my collection
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
Amazing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
Just what hubby wanted
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 September 2015
At first listening through, this album doesn't leave that much of an impact, perhaps apart from the somehow mesmerising title track "50 Words for Snow" with Stephen Fry's linguistic agility working his way through words for snow in a multitude of languages.

I almost dismissed it after one listen, but gave it another shot, and found this is one of those albums that slowly grow on you. It has that very admirably British of qualities that I usually call "understated grandeur". After a while, it actually feels monumental in its seeming simplicity, having crept under your skin, and growing on you like so many crystals of ice and snow.

This may not be to everyone's taste, but if you have liked the more downbeat direction of Kate Bush's music, as was also very prominent in "Aerial", than this should be right up your alley. Personally, I definitely prefer this to the almost over-the-top experimental sound of "The Dreaming". Yet I also admire Kate Bush for doing an album like that – or almost any of her albums, for that matter. Like the true artiste she is, she seems to do everything for her own enjoyment, and not to cater to any commercial interest or a particular public, then leaving it to others to squabble over whether her new album is as good as her previous, or her first.

Perhaps with the honourable exception of "The Kick Inside" and "Lionheart", this has quickly become my most listened to Kate Bush album. I definitely didn't expect that when I listened to it for the first time.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2017
When I was 9 years old I watched Kate Bush on the TV, standing, as she was, next to a piano in a darkened studio singing 'Wuthering Heights'. Living up on the moors made famous by the song it made an impression on me, even at that early age, and I've listened to Kate ever since. Her music has changed considerably since the early years but it's no less worthy for that. This snow-themed album is reminiscent of 'Ariel' and its mesmerising qualities are good for the soul. Of all the songs on here, 'Wild Man' is my favourite, beautifully done.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)