Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
11


on 24 October 2017
Fear is everyone’s enemy and holds us back from many things. This book aims to help you conquer that fear so you can achieve much more. Good read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2012
I found this an interesting book, and certainly Geoff Thompson has confronted and conquered many terrifying situations. The basic advice repeated throughout the book is that the body's 'fight or flight' adrenaline response creates a false sense of fear and panic, and he advises on conquering this by repeated exposure leading to desensitisation.

The author is, like anyone else, writing from his own life experience. Inevitably, this puts a slant on the advice which will suit some readers more than others. Geoff Thompson is an experienced karate fighter, who to challenge his fears, deliberately worked as a bouncer in rough night clubs. Later, he moved on to being a boxer, boxing coach and security adviser.

Inevitably, this career choice means raw danger of physical violence features large in the text. He does try to broaden the focus to fear in general, but rarely do we move far from the heavy world of physical blows. The last third of the book is interviews with people from the world of boxing or special forces military. The boxing example I found especially irksome. Refusing to shake an opponent's hand, and engaging in vile 'grudge match' stunts just to spook him, is deplorable and should not be held up for admiration by the author.

Overall, I felt that as it went on this book became increasingly like a testosterone fuelled visit to a shady world of violence. For some readers, this will be exactly what they need. But For the majority of self-help book readers who probably face less physical fears in life, there are better books out there than this.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2015
Thompson describes the nature of fear and makes constant references to his own life experience, where he was dragged down by fear and eventually decided to construct a 'fear pyramid' and confront his fears one by one. This adds credence to his advice as it is not just theoretical but based on experience.

The book addresses understanding your fears and the nature of fear, learning not to be ashamed of being afraid, and to use the fear in a positive way of growing rather than being bullied and held back by it. This positive approach to fear is very uplifting and has personally helped me to think about my fears objectively and in a constructive way.

The book is aimed at anyone struggling with fear, and definitely is not just for sports people or martial artists; I'm not sure why anyone would think that after reading the book. I would strongly recommend it to anyone, as anyone who claims not to have any fears is either deluded or lying, and I can imagine this will be helpful and uplifting for the majority of people who read it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2017
Great book had it in paper back when it first came out happy to have it again,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2015
Really well written comprehensive guide on fear from both a physiological and a psychological perspective. Great guidance on tackling both of these types of fears with real life examples and interviews. A must read for athletes and competitors.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2017
Very good book - highly recommend
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2014
geoff has a keen insight into things we take for granted ..and excellent book ..a must read for everyone who wishes to be free of fear and manage it...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2014
Still reading but well worth a look for sure
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 May 2015
A great book, which I keep going back too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 July 2015
very good product arrived promptly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)