Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
45
3.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 January 2012
This book was a very surprising find, The plot & prose are well thought out & the story is very credible, In a much saturated market it is very hard to stand out but this book does it in spades, The team are solid & credible which as I said is rare in this genre. As I'm ex military I like the balance between the high tech & low tech weapons systems used & the reality of their use ie they don't claim to be able to kill 50 skinnies with 1 shot etc, well written, well thought out plot & brilliant first book, cannot recommend this enough. Please hurry & release the 2nd instalment!!!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2012
This is an excellent read if you want to go off-line for a couple of hours. Well written and by the time the story builds to the crescendo , you feel that you have built a real relationship with each of the characters. Dixon is a clever writer and this is a well-researched book .
They say in the script the second book will be in out in Dec 2011, it's now Jan 2012 and I'm still waiting!!!!! - wanting more of the same with the 'bro's'.

Verdict:- Buy it and join the adventure (without the risk!)
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
The book is well written. There is little error in grammar and punctuation, and many of the historical facts seem nailed down -- although with the caveat, I haven't done research into them. The type face is well set out and the use of contents make re-reading accessible. the style of writing is engrossing. You want to continue to read and read. The language is broken down well, and newcomers will be welcome to the book. There's even a glossary at the front of the book to assist you in some of the book's more difficult to understand phrases.
Couldn't put it down until i finished it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
Anything to do with the Seals is bread and butter to me, providing it's well researched and true to life. Loved it from start to finish and felt as if I'd been allowed to be part of the Seal brotherhood. Great story well written and unfortunately just a reflection of whats going on the world today
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
from the people that send highly trained men that have a bound and trust in each other, few ever have. this book takes you from planning the mission , the red tape the miss trust between the men in suites and the seals that go in and get down and dirty to save a way of life , glad i read this .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
This was good stuff Chuck kept me busy reading for a long time (I was never a great swimmer I just managed to pass and no more) hope the Kids of today take note and get in plenty practice( it is essential) Best of luck
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
The kindle offers have been a godsend meaning I can try new authors for a very low price.
I enjoyed this book a lot and was gripped throughout and will be reading more of Chuck Dixons work and will be looking out for the tv series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2012
I have long been a fan of Tom Clancy but haven't read much recently due to lack of storage space.

Finally investing in a Kindle Touch, I happened upon this gem for £0.77 and thought "what have I got to lose?"

Worst case is a poor read for less than a pound.

As it was, the story is well crafted and the characters engaging. There is a degree of jingoism, but that is inherent in most military fiction.

The only let-down is the formatting and proof-reading.

This particular ebook does not format like a "regular" book in that chapters run into each other, identified only by bold headings (note, this has been corrected for the 2nd book) and there a quite a few spelling mistakes which can distract (albeit temporarily).

Overall, This was a great read that had me hooked and wanting to find out what happened next and was a good introduction into the world of Kindle
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2012
I thought this would really grab me as an action adventure story but I found the plot line poor and the way it was written failed to grip me. There are far better authors around and far better stories
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2014
Should not complain too much as it only cost 49 pence. But the narrative is full of unexplained acronyms , military jargon and American slang which makes it difficult for this non American to understand.. On many occasions the author has the habit of verbalising nouns. Will not buy any others in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse