Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
8
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.06+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 April 2017
Very good music and excellent service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2011
Again Jordi Savall has produced a disc beyond ones expectations. Indeed it was all that I would have hoped for and have looked for - that magical illusive sound of vocals and string orchestras that permeate the Western Euopean Conciousness and Sub Concious, often only maddening snatches are heard felltingly on film sound tracks. All sounds are freshly minted and it does not have the dusty creaky production values that some exponents of ancient ( said avdvisadly) music revel in to the detriment of their art.
I can offer no greater praise than those who are not familiar with this great artist and his wonderful collaborators could not have a better introduction to a very magical world

Istanbul: Dmitrie Cantemir: ""The Book of Science of Music"" and the Sephardic and Armenian Traditions
Jerusalem: City of two Peaces - Heavenly Peace and Earthly Peace (La Ville des deux Paix: La Paix celeste et la Paix terrestre)
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2012
Played on a high-quality SACD player this has a haunting quality that will repay listening to over and over again. Even the breathing of the woodwind player can be heard and the vocal colouring is exceptional. Very high-quality recording indeed, even when transferred to the iPhone. A revelation.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
A beautiful album that does not disappoint. The choice of pieces, the arrangements, the playing, the interpretation, all superb. Must have.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2016
great
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2012
Is this really what Ottoman music sounded like, surely it sounds a bit too close to 20C film music, I suspect the composer/arranger of quite a bit is Signor Savall himself , well at least of the harmonies and orchestration with some good local colour added. Unfortunately there was no musical notation in the early 16th century in Turkey, so we dont actually know what this music sounded like, but surely it was not like this easy listening

However if you have enjoyed similar concoctions from this source you will enjoy this rather similar product, with its coffee table book to match, but authentic , I suspect not
33 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2012
the product arrived on time, and, as stated, it was brand new. No complaints whatsoever. This was an excellent service
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
Bought as a gift for christmas I may be told about it or not. I might get some feedback you never know
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse