Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
9
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 23 November 2012
This is a good book. I haven't read Daniel Coleman's other books but this seems to be a concise summary of a number of different topics (or aspects) of the links between emotional intelligence and leadership. Each topic is dealt with in self contained chapters that could be described as stand alone essays. Each could probably be filled out to fill a whole book, and I think this may indeed be a summary of a number of different books, but there is nevertheless enough detail here to give an interested reader a good understanding of the points being made.

The topics raised are fascinating and seem to be backed up quite well by fairly rigorous research.

The book is well written and easy to read. I would say the topics in it are very important. I have leant a lot from it and would recommend it highly.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 31 January 2013
What we have in this volume are nine essays, accompanied by an Appendix in which Goleman briefly shares new insights with regard to several leadership competencies previously discussed in one of his books, Primal Leadership (March 15, 2002): self-awareness, self-management, social awareness, and relationship management. Whatever their size and nature may be, all organizations need leadership at all levels and in all areas. If viewed as "gardeners," C-level executives should have a "green thumb" that enables them to "grow" leaders for all those levels and areas of the given "garden." The aforementioned core competencies will provide a framework for that immensely important process.

As I completed my reading of this book, I was again reminded of my favorite passage in Lao-Tzu's Tao Te Ching:

"Learn from the people
Plan with the people
Begin with what they have
Build on what they know
Of the best leaders
When the task is accomplished
The people will remark
We have done it ourselves."

Therein lies the power of emotional intelligence and anyone is capable of developing it and then continuously strengthening it. For those preparing for a career in business or have only recently embarked on, and who aspire to become leaders, this book is a "must read" -- as is its companion volume, The Brain and Emotional Intelligence, both published by More Than Sound (2011). I also highly recommend the aforementioned Primal Leadership as well as LEADERSHIP: A Master Class, a set of nine DVDs which provide Daniel Goleman's one-on-one conversations with several "masters" of thought leadership: Daniel J. Siegel ("The Leader's Mind"), Warren Bennis (The Socially Intelligent Leader"), Erica Ariel Fox ("Getting Beyond Yes"), Claudio Fernández-Aråoz ("Talent Strategy"), Bill George ("Authentic Leadership"), Teresa Amabile ("Create to Innovate"), Howard Gardner ("Today's Leadership Imperative"), and George Kohlrieser ("High Performance Leadership").
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2013
Good book but if you are in a leadership position you should already know this stuff. A good start point though to dig a little deeper into EI.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
a must read for anyone who wants to improve quality of life for themselves and those whom they care for...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
new thinking, on something you should already know and miss. Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2015
Excellent book easy to read and apply the concepts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
Spot on good value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
This is another book that I find most helpful - I highly recommend his books to gain important insights into emotional intelligence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse