Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
89
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 4 December 2015
This game takes a while to wrap your head around but once you do it's one of the most absorbing and fun board games I've played. It doesn't matter whether you're a Terry Pratchett fan or not, you'll find this game great fun to play. Each player is aiming for a different (secret) goal which means there's plenty of deceit among the players, making for a tension-filled hour or so that is hugely satisfying if you win! The replay ability is brilliant too - no two games will be the same as you'll get a different goal to aim for every time, whether it's being the richest or owning the most land, for example.

I can't wait to get this game out again to play over Christmas - it's always a big hit in our house!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
An excellent clever game - unlike many games sold on a Name
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2012
My family (which includes one very big Terry Pratchett fan) received this as a gift for Christmas, and we've been completely bowled over by it! Initially, I must say that my expectations were low. Board game adaptations from other media (the Discworld books in this case) are rarely any good; they just cash in on the brand and have nothing innovative to offer. But we've played it every single day since Christmas, and we're getting very competitive now ...

Look and Feel: upon opening up the set, the Ankh Morpork game cleared the first hurdle of any board game - it looks absolutely gorgeous. The key components, namely the board and playing cards, all feature classic Discworld illustrations including those by Paul Kidby. Nothing is repeated, so there are literally dozens of beautifully-drawn cards to admire as the game progresses. The other playing pieces are all made out of wood, and they feel great and fit into the overall design well.

The Discworld Universe: although you do not need to be familiar with Discworld to understand and enjoy this game, fans of Pratchett's creation will be beside themselves as all their favourite characters - major or minor - make an appearance. History Monks - yes. Ridcully - check. Vimes - but of course. Death - Hello! The mad and bad city of Ankh Morpork is brilliantly brought to life by making each district have its own unique character and influence upon the game. Best of all, each of these elements is integrated with the gameplay in a way that is completely consistent with their characters; for example, playing the History Monks card will allow you to pick up cards from "the past", i.e. the discard pile.

Gameplay: its fair to say that the initial rules and objectives of Ankh Morpork are not immediately intuitive, and you will need a game or two to get the hang of it. The gameplay is a strategy card game combined with territorial conquest. Basically, you use the powers described on the cards in your hand to gain control of various aspects of the board, with the aim of fulfilling your secret objective. Happily, this becomes a very strategic endeavour, and you really have to out-think your opponents to stop them from fulfilling their objectives (if you can figure out what they are) and succeeding in your own. Random events (caused by the magic-using characters) and the occasional stupid ability can throw all your best-laid plans to waste. Like all the best board games, things get really crazy towards the end-stages, when the stakes get frantically high and any player could be within a turn of winning.

In summary: Ankh Morpork is a great independent board game, and is a wonderful addition to the Discworld universe. Its funny, fun to play, has good strategic depth and strong re-playability, and is beautiful to look at. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
gift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2012
This game is great fun, and remains great fun having now played it many times with various groups of people.
The game is complex enough to allow attempts at strategy and to have excellent replay value but has enough randomness to be a good laugh and be engaging without being too serious. The best thing about this game is its accessibility. The rules seem complex on an initial read through but they are really easy to follow within a couple of rounds of actually playing. Best yet, many of the games I've played were won by someone who had never played before.
There is no requirement to know anything about Discworld to enjoy this game but the carefully-thought-out use of all the characters is an added bonus to any fan of the book series.
In short then, this is a surprisingly clever and entertaining game. It allows for some brilliant moments of pure genius and/or hilarious misfortune and I've yet to have an unenjoyable game!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2011
This game is surprisingly, ridiculously good! I got it as a gift for my birthday and it's clever, well-thought-out and an absolute joy to play. I normally avoid board games based on stuff, worried that they're cheap cash-ins. This has been damn good fun!

The basic mechanics are that each player attempts to control the city by playing one or more card (of 100-200?) a turn, most cards allowing you to chuck down a minion to contest an area or purchase a building in an area you control. You start with 5 cards and restock to 5 at the end of your turn. It's remarkably subtle and difficult to control an area, requiring cash, no trouble and minions, so planning ahead while trying not to tip off your mates gets pretty conflicted. Each area adds in different bonus rules, maybe tipping off your eventual plan. Add in that everyone has a random personality with secret winning conditions (control the city, keep the peace, ruin the peace, make loads of money, own the city) and you end up trying to mind-game your poor friends.

It fits damn well in the Pratchett universe, as every card is different (seriously; I spent a good 10-20 minutes just looking at the damn things!)

The one bad thing about the game is the playing pieces. Though the board is spectacular and the cards are damn pretty, the pieces are just painted wood chips. It keeps things nice and easy to see, though, as trying to keep track of who's controlling the city can get difficult!

Basically, it's a reasonably mechanically simple game at the core, but if your friends are remotely sneaky, it becomes absurdly devious. Outsmarting each other is absurdly good fun and the wonderfulness of the cards makes it damned awesome to play. Get this game!
88 Comments| 88 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2017
We were bought this as a present. No previous knowledge of Discworld but it is not needed. A very good game and the kids love it. Very tactical, can be frustrating but so can any tactical game involving luck of the draw and roll of a dice!
Absorbing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
We're thoroughly enjoying this game - worth playing many times. You don't need to be a Pratchett fan to enjoy the game, either. But if you can afford the collector's edition, it's worth paying a bit more for wooden coins, larger map, free poster - and cards and die without the number between 7 and 9!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2016
Love that game, lots f fun ! We are all around 30s and love to play it in my house. Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2012
The game is perfect! I bought it for my friend to complete his Discworld collection. He already has got Thud and Guards! Guards! Unfortunately you can only play Thud with two players and Guards! Guards! is fun but a little bit... Well, it lacks something, some thrill factor.

But this game is wonderful! It has got everything! Tactics, luck, variation, speed. Easy to learn, hard to master. And it's also fun with two players (and that's rare with most multiplayer boardgames) It's the perfect game and it just so happens to have a brilliant theme.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions

Customers also viewed these items

Clacks Board Game
£27.48
Discworld Roleplaying Game
£29.72

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)