Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
38
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.82+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 November 2011
The music on this release can't be faulted, it is Rush as they were in 1974 captured magnificently, with the raw engergy of the performance at the ABC in Cleveland bursting through. This was before they added all the electronic wizardry they use now, and it is a joy to hear them like this - feedback, string buzz, brilliant live guitar tones...I love it.

Now, the bad points: Terrible panning effects, especially on the guitar track. I found this really spoilt the fantastic leads Alex was laying down and annoyed the hell out of me. Also, the transition between tracks is messy. The last 3 tracks are pointless, and sound terrible. So....I decided to remaster the album myself. Turned the tracks into WAV files, deleted the last 3 tracks, converted the whole thing into mono and tidied up the transitions. I could have beefed up the sound a bit, but didn't think it was needed. Now I have the perfect album. Sounds brilliant.
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2012
A rush fan will want to own this for the early gritty sound before the polished performance that we now expect.
If you have all the albums then add this to the collection as it contains three songs that never appeared on any
Rush album that are (fancy dancer)(garden road)and(bad boy).
The quality is radio broadcast type so don't expect too much,but i found it gives a true idea of what a concert
would have sounded like back in 1974.

For me it's another Rush product to add to the collection,and I'm glad it was released,as for anyone new to the
group,it might not be the best starting point,but it's a moment in time captured.
Plus if they release anymore recordings like this,then i will still buy,as any fan of the group will want too
own this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2011
fantastic to hear the three unreleased songs and although"of its age" Rush sounded better then than most so called rock bands do now. Every live cd/dvd Rush release get better and better and the best is on its way. Cleveland again but from 2011.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
This is raw music from the masters, way before keyboards made their entrance. Alex Lifeson was so good then, as he is now, but here you hear him better. Guitar is indeed much more in the center than these days, and this live album - admittedly a bootleg out of the official line - is a must have addition to the Rush fan collection. This band is the most inventive, diverse, prolific, virtuoso, and ultimately "friendly" in music today - my opinion - and I hope they will always be there. Thanks guys for making life so much better with all those songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2011
I have been a collector of Rush for many years nearly 25 years in fact. This recording has been released on countless bootleg labels over the years. I have a least 2 copies of it. When I saw this on Amazon I thought it would be a good way to get a good recording of this show must have been re mastered or something as this appears to be an official realise. Be warned the sound quality is no better than the bootleg copies I already had in my collection. If you are a Rush collector like myself you should already have this show on bootleg if that is the case avoid it's not worth buying. If you are new to Rush and would like this recording this is a good way to get it. The packaging is better than most of the bootlegs I have seen but the sound is no better. It is a classic recording but it does look like cash in buy an unauthorised realise. Not a mention of Anthem any ware on the package. It is questionable weather Amazon should even be selling this item. You have been warned. There is also no mention of this item on the Rush I phone app news so just be warned.
44 Comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2011
brilliant album as it was for a rush fan. Enjoyed it great to add to my collection. Cant wait for more albums.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2012
Good live album from the legends that are rush,who went on to become the best band in the world,ever! BUY!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2012
This CD is not authorised by Rush and is a bootleg recording. The show is available to download for free from many websites. This CD version is masterred from mp3 sources and is heavily edited - no between song banter etc, whilst the freely available download sources are from the radio master and complete.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
This is back to basics raw Rush, its excellent top quality playing of some very good tracks that feature throughout this bands career. It has though been released under other titles in the past so check your collection before buying. However its excellent value from this prolific honest rock band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2012
Heavy,raw, exciting and a little rough around the edges-I loved it.Obviously Rush would not want you to hear this,as it is a million miles from the band that would go on to write Power Windows.A real buzz hearing their youthful exuberance though,well worth a listen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)