Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
43
4.6 out of 5 stars


on 8 July 2017
This concert comes from the Some Girls tour in 1978, for those familiar with the Stones now with backing singers. horn sections and keyboard players this will come as a shock this is a stripped down version of the band with the 5 members of the band [Jagger, Richards, Watts, Wyman and Wood] plus original member, pianist and tour manager Ian Stewart [ he was dropped from the original band by Andrew 'Loog' Oldman but continued to play with them] and Ronnie Wood's old Faces compadre Ian McLagan on keys, there is also a guest fiddle player on Far Away Eyes Doug Kershaw. The sound they produce is very dynamic there is almost a punkish element to their playing with the short sharp rock songs from the Some Girls album with the hyperactive Jagger astonishing in his performance [although his fashion sense leaves something to be desired] the slightly ragged sound of the band [the Stones have never been the most precise of bands] all add to the energy the sound remixed by Bob Clearmountain is excellent and I expected the picture quality to be a bit grainy but it was filmed in 16mm stock so the picture quality is great. This is a brilliant record of a band reenergised by a new album and a rediscovered love of playing together, for those used to The Stones as they are now this is a display of why thousands still turn out to see this band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2016
GREAT !!! GREAT !!! GREAT !!! It was THE STONES I grew up with. Great and Spectacular Concert, Fantastic Sound Quality, Great jams.
The Stones are always at the TOP.
I give A + A + A +, for the Sound and the Set List, this one is a keeper....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2015
Great gig in texas
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2017
Arrived on time and happy with package
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2012
possibly the best live dvd of the rolling stones, no frills full on rolling stones.filmed at the time of some girls
album release I get the feeling watching this that they felt they had something to prove to the new boys in town ie punk rock etc their standing was in question. having seen most of the other live dvds even ladies and gentlemen which features their best line up ie incl mick taylor, this is possibly even better, the sheer non stop energy of the show, full on guitars no frills , show the kids this when you talk about the rolling stones, this is the business!! even the cd sounds fantastic and I am not a fan of live cds
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2011
I've got mixed feelings about the Some Girls material from the album but generally like it and was curious enough to buy the Blu-ray. If you like the album, I believe you'll really like the Blu-ray concert. The band was tight, Mick's vocals were especially strong in my opinion and the performance was very spirited and enjoyable to watch. There was a lot of passion put into the Some Girls material and was played very well. I enjoyed the Some Girls material on the Blu-ray even more than the studio album. The audio was clear and you could hear all the guitars even when Mick was playing. The video is more than serviceable. A little grainy? Sure, but so what. It was 1978.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2011
It seems the Stones are agreeing to document in High Def,all major filmed landmark gigs of their amazing career. I suspect this is not just for the money (and yet how their cash must roll in!) No..They are now at a late career stage where there is a need to ensure their posterity is preserved. The Stones have nothing after all like the Beatles definitive anthology.The 25x5 documentary twenty five years ago is only half their career to date!!!! I ramble....

This is a great concert.Saw it in Vue cinema, Hull on Oct 4th 2011. Apart from the great performance musically, you get most of the "Some girls" album live onstage. Shattered, Beast of burden and especially,When the whip comes down are all first rate.

Pity it wasnt filmed in 35 mm as these 16mm films, even when cleaned up to HD still have a "misty" look comparitively. However, it is of its time and we must savour it. On the cinema showing, I was amazed at how well Bill Wymans bass was put at the front of the soundmix. Thank you Mr Clearmountain, you have shown how fundamental his basslines were to the Stones.

Enjoy this gig folks and I hope the blu ray is as good as the cinema release. Roll on further filmed gigs in Blu ray. Lets have Paris 76, Hampton Roads 81 and maybe Marquee London 71 if this could scrub up well enough from the old LTV tapes
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 18 February 2012
It never ceases to amaze me how variable the Stones can be within a single set. On parts of this, they really are firing on all cylinders, elsewhere it's little short of embarrassing.

I think it's fair to say that the lows are more obvious on the video than on the cd, which I would venture to suggest is a different (and superior) mix. As far as the video quality goes, it's perfectly Respectable, though to a degree the whole experience is somewhat diminished by Jagger's ill-fitting and far too revealing legwear. However, once he gets warmed up (takes a couple of songs, he initially sings very flat) Jagger is in fine and very hard working vocal form throughout. Keith, especially on the video, seems to be mixed way higher than Ronnie, which is unfortunate as at times his playing is far from inspired - e.g. compare the version of Let It Rock here with the one available on Rarities 1971 - 2003 recorded in Leeds in March 1971. No contest. Several of Keith's solos sound alarmingly cack-handed - he was clearly having an off night because there's plenty of evidence of him playing far better on later recordings.

But what's really interesting about this performance is how they turn into a different and far better band when they start playing their new album. They play 7 of the 10 songs from Some Girls in a block in the middle of the set, and frankly apart from slight problems getting any sound out of Ronnie's steel guitar on Far Away Eyes (which also features the rare sight of Mick Jagger playing piano, plus a guest spot from local boy Doug Kershaw on fiddle) they're all excellent. Just check out Jagger's vocal on Shattered, where his rhythmic dexterity is stunning. So it's depressing to report that most of the rest of this gig is pretty so-so. While I'm definitely among those who think Some Girls is their last really good album, a quick comparison of this recording to a good performance by the Mick Taylor line-up shows how much they had already declined - check out the Belgian Affair download from stonesarchive.com if you want to hear a top quality Stones live album. To my ears, they long seem to have found it hard to give their all on songs they've played many times - one of the reasons, probably, that for the last 2 or 3 decades they've always exhumed some less-played old songs when they tour, and they always sound better than the old warhorses like Brown Sugar or this gig's woefully over-extended Jumping Jack Flash.

So if you're a big fan of Some Girls and want to hear/see some live versions that leave many of the studio versions standing, this is a worthwhile buy. Apart from that it's a bit frustrating.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2011
Great dvd of a great band in their late prime, quality visual
and audio. Mick, Keef and the rest of the band were blinding.
Well worth buying and as usual good service from Amazon.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2012
If you are a Stones fan like me then this is a must. If you are not a Stones fan this is a must see to understand why the rest of us are. The period between 1969 and 1978 saw the Stones at their very best live whether with Mick Taylor or Ronnie Wood. In this DVD they are still raw, decadent, arrogant, living the real rock and roll lifestyle yet delivering their best performances musically, Keef is great, how did he do it all?. Since then they have become "respectable", established, knighted, more polished, professional, clean, sober (most of them)and very rich yet still the worlds greatest rock and roll band. This DVD captures them at the height and towards the end of the period they truly earned the title and had the world at their feet. I've been to many of their gigs around the world but would love to have been at this one, now I can and for much less than the cost of a ticket!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)