Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
16
4.8 out of 5 stars
Individual Thought Patterns (Reissue)
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£20.82+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 3 November 2012
Death does not have a bad album, this one is a true classic and a must have.
Chuck's vocals are awesome as always, so addicting, can play it in loop.
Great riffs, great lyrics, a pleasure to ears and to soul, top tracks: All!
One of their top albums, should be on any thrash, death, prog and any true metal fan collection.
R.I.P. Chuck and long live Death!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2016
Classic Death metal from the great Death.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2016
I don't usually write reviews for a number of reasons. I won't say much about the album itself: there are many good reviews to read, just let me say this is a true Death masterpiece.
What really striked me is this remaster's dramatic improvement in terms of audio quality: it's really noticeable - and really pleasing to the ear.
Unlike too many useless remasters, this one is really impressive, and I can't help but recommending it to you over the standard - that is, older - version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
listened to this album maniacally when it was first released. now 20+ years later it's still just as good and while i'm not that much into death meal anymore this album is one of few exceptional death metal albums i'm still amazed by. R.I.P Chuck!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2003
Stunning, an absolute work of genius. Chuck Schuldiner (RIP), had surely reached his place in death metal history after his first two albums, but with this offering (5th Studio LP), his evolution as a song writer and musician is well and truly comfirmed.
Chuck teamed up with the legenday producer scott burns for this polished masterpiece and pulled in some of the most talented metal musicians of modern thrash. Andy LaRoque - Lead guitar(king diamond), Steve Digorgio - bass (sadus) and greg hoglan - drums(death angel).
The first track (overactive imagination) rips your head off and sets the pace for the rest of the album. The drumming and bass work is truly astonishing here and sets the foundation for some of the most brutal riffing ever heard. The album progresses well with few fillers and other notable tracks are: in human form, trapped in a corner, individual thought patterns, destiny and the awesome philosopher.
This album is a must for anyone who likes to hear intense, non-compromising and brutal music.
BUY THIS CD!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2003
This was actually the first Death album that I bought after it was recommended by a friend. I was already very into Obituary and found Death equally good. The music speaks for itself when you first listen to the album, vocals are also superb. After listening to this album I quickly set about purchasing the rest of the Death albums which are also amazing frankly. The only shame is that Death (the only permanent member being the late Chuck Schuldiner) have never received the recognition that they so rightly deserve....Chuck Schuldiner is probably guitarist that ever lived. Take my advice buy this album immediately followed by every other Death album produced. Lyrically amazing throughout, Death practically invented the genre we now know as "Death Metal." If you buy this and like it, you MUST own "Symbolic" which is the definitive "Death" album, in fact, BUY THEM ALL.
Rest in peace Chuck......
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2006
I have a few Death albums but this one is the best by far. Even years later I still shake my head in disbelief at how good this album is when I listen to it. The musicianship is phenomenal. Even the bass guitaring is well-played with intricrate riffs, as opposed to just being a "3rd guitarist" like most metal bass players. This album is just so fun to listen to because it is technically brilliant, with all the instruments really working cohesively, but its also extremely melodic and...dare I say..beautiful. You can even sense some jazz and classical influences with the chord progressions and arpeggiated solos. This is NOT your average metal album. Chuck really used everything he knew about music to make this one.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
Chuck gets in a new guitarist and goes to war with him to see who can cram in as much to each song as possible. The result is the songs suffer. Stick to the first two albums...
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
this has a great sound to it, crushing, intricate but far from guitar wankery and some of the finest songs the band laid to record. Chuck is in great form here. The album has a fine running time , feeling vital and fresh and wanting you to want more and you will want it. Released in 1993 and featuring gene hoglan on drums there is something very strong about the album. Some have said there are jazz influences , it took me a while to come around to that way of thinking but i believe its true in the structure but i am keen to stress this is a very focused album, Moving further away from the gory lyrics of their early days this could be viewed as chuck springing forth his deepest thoughts. Its a great album, like really.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2013
Along with Human, Scream Bloody Gore and Sound of Perseverance. I'd say this is most certainly a must-have Death album. It's another astonishing entry into a short discography that changed the face of the genre. There really is nothing like it, to this day. You can hear the influence of this band in others, but in my opinion there has never been a band that has transcended Death. If you like any of their other albums, I can't recommend this one enough. Trapped in a Corner and Overactive Imagination are just two of the epic tracks to be reckoned with (and two of my all-time favourites).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)