Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
46
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.71+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 January 2014
This dvd contains several short films starring Laurel and Hardy, and some of them are available both in black and white (as they originally were made) and in color (colorized by computer). Personally I like the colorized versions because the old black and white films are sometimes in poor health and a lot of detail has been lost. Color brings back a lot of the visual storytelling. There are a couple of classics here. Not only is this a seasonal treat (there's snow, there's Christmas tree selling in the summer, there's more snow) for anyone who remembers seeing Stand and Ollie when they were a kid, it's also fun for the next generation. There's not a lot of complicated dialogue here — there's enough to be seen and lots of silliness. A good buy — if only the movie guys put out more Laurel and Hardy dvd's this way.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
Timeless comedy genius.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
enjoyed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2015
Another welcome addition to my brother's library. He loves these guys.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
They were a gift and very much enjoyed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2015
Although the film is not about Christmas itself, the snowy backdrop to "Laughing Gravy", which is arguably the best of the duo's short films, has become a regular treat for me to watch usually very early on Christmas morning whilst still in bed after making my coffee, it is a great way to start a nostalgic day, which is how I prefer to spend Christmas. I also tend to view "Below Zero", another snowy short but again not about Christmas, and "The Fixer-Uppers" which sees the boys trying to sell Christmas cards before getting themselves into 'another fine mess', to complete my L&H fix at Christmas. "Big Business" which is a silent save for the organ music that plays throughout is the weaker of the films on this dvd set.

Though personally I still prefer the b&w versions of their films, the colourisation is nicely done and thankfully not overdone - the old-time quality still resonates. Anyway, it is very handy to have both b&w and colour versions here on the one dvd. For children and grandchildren it would be a good idea to show them the colour versions first, and hopefully, the legacy of Laurel and Hardy films will filter down to the next, and further generations to come.

Happy Christmas.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
I bought this because it has the Christmas Tree Salesmen on it "Big in Business" This alone is well worth the money.
Service was good and delivery was prompt. Well done all round.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
Not exactly a Christmas special made for T.V., but who cares. It`s a treat to see that three of the four episodes are colorized. the fourth one is silent in black and white. Unfortunately not available in the U.S. I`m not much on comedies, but I wouldn`t miss these or Abbott & Costello for all the stock on wall street.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
Bought this as a stocking filler for my brother, couldn't resist watching it myself and still smile when I think about it
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
Brought it for the boyf and him and I found it hilarious and very good quality lol x x x
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)