Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
140
4.2 out of 5 stars
Dreamworks Dragons: Gift of the Night Fury - Two All New Adventures [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.57+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 30 July 2017
Love this film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
All okay good D V D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2014
Great DVD little girl loves it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
Great DVD for all dragons fans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 30 November 2012
The first thing a customer needs to know about this film is the fact that it is quite short. The main feature is only 22 minutes long. Even so - I am delighted with my purchase. The animation is of the same stunningly high quality as the original film and the story is well written and very enjoyable. It begins with the Vikings preparing for their winter holiday - the word Christmas is never actually used but they do have a giant wooden Christmas tree and holiday lights all over the village. Everyone is looking forward to the best holiday ever when all of the sudden - the dragons all take flight and leave. All of them except Hiccup's Dragon - Toothless who can not fly without Hiccup due to a tail injury from the first film. Hiccup sadly decides to build a better replacement tail for Toothless- giving the dragon the freedom to leave as well. Everything goes from bad to worse after this - and it looks like this may be the worst holiday ever for the Vikings - but can Hiccup save the day?

It sounds like the first part of this film might be a bit sad - but there is always enough humour to keep the viewer laughing - and being a child's Christmas film I don't think it will count as spoiler to mention that it does have a very happy ending - with the most wonderful gifts of all for the Viking children. I think holiday films are a wonderful way to start getting into the holiday spirit - and - as far as I am concerned - Christmas is a season - it is simply too much fun to only let it last one for day. My sons both did complain that this film was a bit short, but they loved all the same, and I'm sure it will be watched many times over the next month and become a part of our own family Christmas tradition. This is already one of very favourite holiday films of all time.

I do think Dreamworks felt they needed to add a few extras though, in order to sell us on a dvd with such a short main feature. So they sell this as two stories, adding The Book of Dragons which gives us a look at the book first seen in How to Train Your Dragon. This is not done in the same cgi Dreamworks animation though. As we look at the pages of the book, drawings come to life - and for the most part we have a very crudely drawn cartoon about Berk the very, very unfortunate - later known as Berk the Bold. There are a few cgi images but unless I am mistaken, every one of these is a clip from the original film. Still this story was quite funny, and again the children enjoyed it. It is also rather short though with a running time of 18 minutes.

In addition to these, the disk does contain a few extras. The best of these was a short film on how to draw a Gronkle. There were also some scenes that were cut from the main film, and a dvd rom section which we have not used. There was a sneak preview of a new arena spectacular of How to train Your Dragon, created by the same team that did the Walking With Dinosaurs tour. Finally there was what looked a passable game where you spot the differences between two dragon or Viking pictures but we could not make it work. That said the holiday special alone is well worth teh purchase price, and the extra cartoon an added bonus.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 7 November 2011
This is a cracking price but i felt i must warn you of the running times.

Book of Dragons is only 18 minutes long.

The gift of fury is slightly longer at 22 minutes.

If your kids loved how to train your dragon they may in fact be really disappointed by what amounts to the length of a standard cartoon episode.

On that note in 2012 the cartoon network will in fact be airing a brand new series based on the original movie so make sure you watch out for it.

Personally i wouldn't waste your money unless your kids really really wanna watch it, but it works out quite expensive for 40 minutes of footage.

The choice is yours.
11 Comment| 323 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2015
"Gift of the Night Fury" is a seasonal romp set at Yule Tide in the Northern Hemisphere and explores the joys of giving and receiving of gifts in the village of Berk. The story is not as strong as the "How to Train Your Dragon" film but is still quite enjoyable to say the least. The main characters are given voice by the same actors who played them in the first film thus creating a sense of continuity in the story telling which lends a certain gravitas to the franchise. This DVD short film is great family entertainment and has something for everyone in the family. This is the perfect gift for your children or for children in your circle of friends as it will keep them entertained and engrossed for the duration of the film. This is another triumph from the studios of Dreamworks and will go down a storm with the young at heart in your life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
For a big fan of Hiccup that is a must!!!! The whole family enjoyed this movie, it is worth the money!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
This film picks up where the last one leaves off. The Vikings in the village of Berk live in harmony with the dragons thanks to Hiccup and Night Fury. As the winter holidays approach, one that resembles our Christmas, but is not, all the dragons take off in mass migration. Astrid decides to cheer everyone up by creating new holiday traditions...first one is yak-nog, a near tasty beverage everyone tries to avoid. Still the village is concerned over the dragons departing, that is everyone except for one person who mysteriously pretends he is upset....but why?

Second new winter holiday tradition...hiding dragon eggs. This is a short feature of 22 minutes. There are plenty of extras in the DVD such as the deleted scenes which includes a third holiday tradition, "Missing Toe" which they really wanted to keep in the film, but couldn't due to time constraints. It also has a dragon training sequence as well as a DVD-ROM that includes games for youngsters.

As a stand alone DVD, the 22 minute feature is good, but not worth the purchase price. If you plan on viewing and using all the extras, then it is worth the purchase.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse