Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 8 February 2018
A great book following golfs early years, the guys who played and built the game into what it means today. The 1913 Open is exciting, tense and throughly captivated by the authors skill with words. Every swing and putt is easy to imagine as if one were playing themselves. If you play golf, at whatever level this book will grab you, if you don’t play then you will after reading this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 October 2013
Hard to put down, even to play a regular weekly fourball. The author takes us through a vital and interesting period of golfing development when British golfers led the world and introduced the game to America. After Francis Ouimet, this outstanding and dedicated young home -grown amateur who stayed with the established British stars such as Harry Vardon to beat him to win the US Open at Brookline in 1913, they learnt very quickly. And names such as Walter Hagen and Bobby Jones figure in this highly readable book. I made the mistake of lending a paperback version of The Greatest Game Ever Played to a friend and, like some of my errant drivers from the tee, it never came back. I downloaded the Kindle version to read it again, and am in no way sorry. For a £8 or so, it is a must for all golfers interested in the development of a great and frustrating game. Well done Mark Frost; your style and attention to detail and your skill in keeping the storyline so gripping to be applauded.
Reviewer. Alec Parrett (Broadstairs, Kent)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 July 2017
This is a superb book and should be read by every keen golfer. It is not only an enthralling tale but also a comprehensive account of the origins of the modern game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 March 2018
This was a gift for a golfer, appreciated
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2017
Bought as a gift, delighted with the customer service definitely recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2015
Good condition, fascinating story, well written. My husband is enjoying the history side of it very much, particularly about Harry Varden.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed this book . Disney made a film of the same name but there is much more in the book than is covered in the film. It's based on a true story and also interesting facts about the development of the game of golf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 January 2015
I bought this as a gift for my brother and his rating is 5*. he reckons it's one of the best books ever. delivery was as expected. would recommend book and vendor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 August 2011
Having lent a copy of The Greatest Game Ever Played to several friends, it has failed to be returned so I just had to buy another copy. Now, having re-read it, I would still pass it on to other golfing friends but this time I have my name on it! This is a book which can be easily enjoyed over and over again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 October 2013
Takes you through from early days of golf to the beginnings of modern golf in US. I read a review in the Financial Times and it really lived up to the raves. I am now a big Francis Ouimet fan . Also when you finish check some of the videos he made in 1963 of the 50 th anniversary of his win.
Enjoy !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse