Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 14 September 2011
I must admit I've not listened to this album and I don't intend to due to having seen him live at Norwich UCI where he was supporting other acts.
I don't think I have been so bored listening to any accoustic singer before.
The songs were dreary, unintersting and about as inspiring as a dead badger.
If the songs I heard that night are the ones on this album, it's a big.... NO THANKS!
I guess on the plus side he does play guitar himself and write his own material, as dreary, pointless and dull as it is!
1010 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 November 2014
After 40 years of buying and listening to music of every genre colour and style be it hard rock, prog rock, punk, funk, jazz rock, roots reggae, jazz-funk-fusion, folk, new wave, indie, goth rock, psychedelia, ambient, krautrock, electronica, country rock, soul, easy listening and everything else. I now sadly find myself stranded in this post millennium wasteland of mindless mediocrity populated by the likes of a naff chubby ginger git singer songwriter called Ed Sheeran who possesses the visual style and charisma of a performing bog-roll. Making the modern age even more paltry and pointless than it already is.
77 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2011
I will try and send my review for the 2nd time as my first one was not published. I reviewed the album becasue I was sick of reading the gushing compliments which will only result in more people wasting their money, and ultimatley I fear,being very disapointed. Don't be fooled. I love A-Team however the rest of the album is mediocre. He seemingly cannot decide whether he is a rapper or a folk singer. I definitely prefer the emotive love songs, which are at least original. Where I was originally taken by the singing and rapping on one song thing, it now sounds very repetitive, and eventually could become plain annoying. I hope he gets better, but for him to improve, his sound will need to be able to change or mature and I don't think it will do either. Save your money and buy the original EP. It appears that he ran out of orginal material as he has used tracks from the original EP.
If this is an example of exciting new music, bring back Peter Andre ( who also sings and raps on he same song!)
44 Comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 February 2012
This dreadful album can only be described in terms of cultural extinction. There is a dark horizon yonder and from it, on a ginger horse, rides the Sheeran. A homunculus so bereft of talent, so dire in his creative ideation that he attempted, foolishly, NAY, insanely, to dabble in things that mankind should best leave alone... Blending the pappiest and dreariest elements of Coldplay, the witheringly awful noodling of New Folk and the least edgy and unattractive tropes and memes of the laughable 'genre' Grime, the Sheeran has created a sort of anti-art. But not an anti-art in any critical, dystopian, political or seditionary way. No. He's done it to sell CDs and downloads to spotty Dulwich teenagers and their mums. Boys called Giles with snap-backs and thrill-hungry trophy-wives who wish they were still undergrads and that the kids had never come along and ruined everything. They will buy the Sheeran's 'music'. They will play it to their spawn. And MUSIC will die.
44 Comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 November 2011
Ed sheeran needs to work out what style of singer he is, yes it is common for vocalists to merge a couple of styles but most people i.e. Rou Reynolds, do it with class. he should be a melodic acoustic singer, him and guitar he's good at that, but when he starts rapping he sounds stupid. Like an upper middle class kid trying to be eminem. Man up lad!
44 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2017
I have to confess I'm late to the Ed Sheeran bandwagon. I sort of liked "The A Team" when it came out as a single, but I could never quite get into most of Sheeran's other songs. I could recognize why it was good, but it never quite gelled for me. Now, though, I'm starting to appreciate his more mature work--funny thing to say for someone who's only 26!--more and more, which has caused me to go back and revisit, or rather, visit for the first time, this album. This time I can appreciate its brilliance, while also understanding why it didn't quite work for me the first time around.

Of course, as a performer, Sheeran needs to be judged at least as much on his live performances as his studio albums, and, while I haven't seen him in person, the recordings I've seen of his live performances show him to be a gifted and charismatic performer, with a voice that often sounds even better with the rawness of live singing than when cleaned up for the studio. As an artist and songwriter, Sheeran pulls together multiple trends in contemporary Anglo-Irish music, and isn't afraid to cross the pond to America either. His working-class Britrap, full of stories of day-to-day desperation and low-level drug use, is in many ways reminiscent of that of Mike Skinner/The Streets, but with less cynicism and more genuine pathos: Skinner's lyrical personae are generally too angry and dysfunctional to achieve anything other than more failure; Sheeran's songs feature a younger, more vulnerable persona who isn't afraid to daydream about being a father in "Small Bump," for example, and whose devastation can be inferred by the implied tragic ending of the last line. Sheeran takes the energy and honesty of the rap genre, and suffuses it with his own soulful intimacy, something that can be in turns either refreshing or jarring.

But while Sheeran has one foot in the rap world, he has another foot firmly planted in Anglo-Irish folk rock, something he makes explicit by including the Scotch-Irish ballad "The Parting Glass" at the end "Give Me Love." This places him in the same general camp as Ben Howard, Damien Rice (whom he name-checks in "You Need Me, I Don't Need You"), and Snow Patrol, who have taken a more folk/country turn in their last album "Fallen Empires," and with whom Sheeran toured and performed. At the same time, Sheeran is of a slightly younger generation and brings in more explicitly pop-y influences, not to mention collaborations with Taylor Swift. Like Swift, Sheeran isn't afraid of the insanely catchy pop hook; like Rice and Snow Patrol, he isn't afraid to venture into almost embarrassingly naked emotional territory.

The result of all this is an album exploding at the seams with genre experimentation, musical talent, and personal revelations. I once wrote in a review of Snow Patrol that listening to their lyrics was like reading my own secret diary set to verse; listening to Sheeran's songs is like hearing someone else's secret diary being sung, rapped, and poured out in an unstoppable torrent of emotional intensity and musical talent. For me, the first impulse was to turn down the tap to something a little more manageable. After multiple listens, however, I was able to deal with the fire-hose volume of Sheeran's musical and lyrical output, and I am coming around to the conclusion that + is not only an impressive debut, but one of the best albums of the past 5 years.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 September 2011
There are some stupid reviews on here, ignore them.

This album is great. I've waited for it for such a long time seeing his fan base slowly grow from a few in the know to now seeing him on MTV and lauded. He isn't some manufactured TV talent show Cowell enslaved creation - he has done it his way, not rushed nor willing to conform to a narrow genre based marketing definition. His target audience are those who have eclectic tastes like himself who appreciate well written songs and proper musicianship.

If you have heard, and liked, any of the work he has done on the run up to the release of this album then get this album - do not cherry pick the tracks - listen to it from start to finish like in the old days of vinyl, take in every careflully crafted word.

Some won't get it or like it, so what. If you listen to 6Music because it isn't main stream, if you watch Jools on Later because you won't be restricted in your music tastes then get this album and enjoy it.
33 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 September 2011
terrible lyrics, dreadful songs, fake sentiment. yawn...who will be the next young and dumb pop star to knock him off the watered down, over saturated pop machine?
44 Comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2013
As someone who grew up listening to all the GREAT singer-songwriters such as, are you ready?
bob dylan
leonard cohen
james taylor
neil young
cat stevens
townes van zandt
nick drake
gordon lightfoot
don mclean
tom rush
jim croce


....i am always keen to hear what passes these days for acoustic based singer-songwriters, especially those who have won multiple awards and are signed to major labels like this guy. And so......i listened. Hard. Oh, how i listened. And what did i hear? well, just what i expected to hear really. Ultra ultra ultra lightweight material sung in the same wispy, soul-less manner that every other young singer seems to use, from coldplay to james morrison to green day. You know what i mean dont you? sure you do. And the songs - well, kitchen sink dramas mostly but at least 4 divisions below what acts like squeeze and the kinks used to do many, many years ago. muzak for elevators totally devoid of emotion and drama, just wispy, twee melodies perfectly created for an entire generation of people who are happy aiming their creativity levels at the middle of the road

Im sure young ed is a nice chap and i admire how he got where he got but really, this is insipid stuff. It gets worse when he attempts a hip hop style, god help us all. Its a sad sad state of affairs when material like this gets lauded so high but thats where we are today. we have generations of people aged 10-40 who have lived and are living through the worst possible eras of music and are so desperate to have their own heroes they will hang on to anything and say 'this is great' when its not at all really. They know that the great days of music are over and they must be very bitter about it all.

This is twee twee tweeeeeeeeee stuff! just perfect for 2013 and the years coming up which are only gonna get worse. Its all over boys and girls.
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 November 2012
I ordered this gift for a friend for Christmas. When it arrived it had "made in Japan" on the back and lots of Japanese writing on it, as such I had to break the plastic seal to remove all of this and then try the CD in my machine to make sure that it was not voiced over in japanese. All in All the CD is good but very dissappointed that I had to open it to make sure it was English, not what I was expecting when buying an album for a British Artist, from Amazon UK ! 2 stars for the actual CD, -3 stars due to having covered in Japanese writing and having to break the seal to be sure.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)