Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
94
Rogue Gels - Universal Lighting Filter Kit
Style: Flash Gels Combo Filter Kit|Change
Price:£24.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 24 June 2015
OK, these are perhaps a little expensive compared to others available but you do get quite a neat little package.
There are 3 gels for each of the 5 colours and 3 white diffusers, making 18 in total. All of them fit into a neat pouch, which is held closed by Velcro.
The coloured gels are:- Plus Green, 1/4 CTO, 1/2 CTO, Full CTO and 1/2 CTB.
Every gel is labelled together with its F Stop.
There are also 2 rubber securing bands and a guide card in the pouch.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2017
Perfect. I'd buy again, but they're really quite expensive when compared to normal rectangular filters, such as the Rosco Strobist set or the Rogue Colour Corrective or Colour gel set. You only get one of each colour in this set so when using multiple gridded lights you'd need to use multiple gels. I love gridding speedlights, but if I'm being honest I can't see myself using more than three in a single shot often at all.

They are very, very convenient though and I'd be lying if I said I didn't love them. I just feel it would be far better value for money to include at least two of each, if not more. By comparison, the regular gel sets from rogue are only a little more expensive but include 6 of each gel, which still work with most grid systems.

As a note, I use these with the JJC stacking grid system, not the matching Rogue system, but they fit perfectly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 March 2018
Use these with Neewer and Canon speedlites.
The gells work fine. Be weird if they didn't. They are thin and a tad fragile, but I think as long as you look after them they will do the job.
They are packed with paper separators and 3 thin index cards. This is nice but it's extremely fiddly. Makes you want to put them in some kind of small book/binder solution so you can flick through without dropping 80+ sensitive bits of product everywhere.

Knocking a star mainly because it's too expensive for what you get IMO.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 January 2014
Bought to have a play with multi flash system to create lighting effects. They fit all of my speedlites both large and small. I read in another review that a holder is required. This is not true as this comes with a good quality rubber band which again fits all of the flashes, and the filters are held in place by the band.
Its exactly what I was expecting and the very well made small flat pouch holds them all in a very neat fashion, separated with pieces of card. Fits easily into my camera bag.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 March 2017
rogue are coming out with a very good set of products now, honing each item, especially the flashbenders, these are great for an extra amount of creativity, but also for balancing and adding to a shot the light from a flash.
The possibilities of this kit are limited by your imagination.
One point to remember is position the gels as per the picture or instructions they are meant to be bent infront of the flash otherwise they will burn/melt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2016
Can't recommend these highly enough, absolutley fantastic build quality and the rubber band attachments are head and shoulders above that horrible velcro stuff other gels make you stick on your flashes.

If you don't have some of these get some!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2017
I use there Gels on a Canon and Godox Flashguns and they do the job perfectly. One thing that would be good would be to supply more than one rubber band with each pack as if you are using more than one flashgun you have to find an alternative method of attaching a second or third gels to other flashguns
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 May 2016
One year using them... Still in perfect (flat and unbuckled) condition when used at 1/2 power or less (flash guide no.60). Love the attaching band, so easy and quick to fit gels plus you can keep the gels a little way off the front of the flash so it doesn't buckle. Lots of useful vibrant colours, mainly used to change backgrounds for creative product shoots. Tip "Use a grey (50% - 60% grey) background to bounce flash off for the best saturated colour results".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 June 2017
Adds a deal of creativity of flash be it colouring a neutral white backcloth or adding a coloured highlight. Filters come with exposure factors but I don't use these as I rely on a flash meter for more accurate control of flash ratio. The gels are reasonably robust but won't take a lot of hammering but, for the price, they are great value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2018
Great gels, use these with my Nikon Speedlight's to change colours of walls or to throw different shades of colours into portraits.
Last shoot my model was beside a cave, threw a red gel on it, and it looked like an evil cave with a glow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)