Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
167
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£24.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2017
" SHOCK AND HORROR " I brought this DVD because of the great Curtis & Moore combination and thinking of obtaining a fantastic complete collection of a great series at a great price. But once i put the first disc into my DVD player i was presented with trailers in a continental language, is it Dutch , Swedish, or Polish????????. The menu screen was a complete lottery, but i eventually got the first episode to load thinking i had wasted my money on a continental version of a great series. But "SHOCK & HORROR" the language was "ENGLISH". The Visual and sound are of a very good quality and the series brings back great memory's when i first watched this great series many years ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2016
Tony Curtis is one of favourite film actors and I love him in the Persuaders because of his wit, acting skills and talent.
The Persuaders is a great series to watch, a mixture of action and humour.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This takes me back, the Persuaders only ran for one brilliant series, sadly because it didn't take off in America.
It was a big budget trans-atlantic affair with two Hollywood giants Curtis + Moore in the leading roles.
If you watched them in the seventies you will know how good they are.
If you are fresh to the show then i can tell you this, the Persuaders is about two millionaires who become amateur detectives
and get involved in various adventures. The show is light hearted with copious comic relief and larger than life villains.
This is a charming show that i admit is dated but the stars have charisma and it is highly entertaining.
Finally in my opinion it has the best theme tune ever for a t.v. show, by the legendary John Barry.
Fabulous.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
I think that the last two discs are just thrown in for good measure, because in the written material (stupidly put under the jewel box, so you can hardly read te script) there are only 7 discs described. There are 24 episodes of this series only, and those are on the first 6 discs, the 7th is with special features.
The series are nostalgic reminder, loved it then, love it now - but for sentimental values mainly :D
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
Fantastic series- glorious quality. The special features basically has everyone associated with the programme confirming that Tony Curtis was a complete nut case. Enjoy it in all it's glorious sun tanned glamour.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Network are easily the Persuaders that they can look after classic cult British TV.
They have released the TV series the Persuaders a number of times. Now since reviews get repeated on all of the releases on Amazon even when they are actually different products this review will cover each of the versions.

The earliest editions and now the oldest editions are on DVD only and have the purple design on the box
These have all of the episodes and some good special features. They do not have any subtitles though,

The more recent editions, and frankly better editions are the blue and red colour design on the box. There is the DVD and Blu Ray editions.
The restoration to picture and sound is amazing and the show looks better than ever. It is truly wonderful how the picture looks as if it were filmed yesterday and not back at the beginning of the 1970s.
The restoration is fabulous and it is clear that much work and attention has been taken on this series.
The product design is brilliant too. There are two sets of discs one in a red gatefold that resembles the file for the character Danny Wilde on the opening credits of the show and the second is the blue gatefold that resembles the file for the character Brett Sinclair.
There is a really good booklet about the series that comes with Blu Ray edition which also does have subtitles for the hard of hearing and some great extras.

Lord Brett Sinclair (Roger Moore) was born into an English aristocratic family and is heir to a fortune. He was Harrow and Oxford educated. He has never needed to work. In contrast Danny Wilde (Tony Curtis) is a rough fun loving American from the tough streets of NewYork. He has skilfully bought and sold oil stocks and now is also rich.
Together they form an unlikely team of crime fighters.

This is the basis of this truly excellent series produced by ITC at the beginning of the 70s.
The two characters are brought together by a retired judge named Fulton. He wants them to catch the sort of criminals that have slipped through the usual justice net. He wants them to use their spare time and their millions to help him bring these criminals to justice.
Brett and Danny become reasonably good friends after an initial dislike of each other. They use their wealth and influence to work in places that conventional detectives cannot.
Together they enjoy European high spots, wining and dining in all the best places and meeting scores of beautiful women.
The differences in background and upbringing causes some great humorous sparring rivalry between them.
The show is full of glossy locations and plenty of action and humour. It is a really interesting series and it is one of ITC's finest.
The DVD set is excellent with brilliant re mastering of picture and sound. The set contains all the original episodes and feature film versions as well as some interesting bonus features.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2017
Absolutely fine, the title screens are in dutch but it's easy to work out which line is "Play all" and to work out which means 'On' or 'Off' for the subtitles. The episodes are all just as they would be on an english DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2004
Moore and Curtis were never going to be a likely pairing, but this series works really well. These two playboys run around Europe, setting the world to rights, rescuing maidens in distress, and driving Ferraris and Aston Martins. This offers a fascinating glimpse into the pre package holiday South of France, and other, then exotic, locations. The Persuaders was never played seriously, this is very close to Moore's Bond and Saint, but it is pretty entertaining.
The only disappointment is the quality of the extras which are rather insignificant, and a slightly imperfect transfer to DVD. I therefore rate this as 4 stars.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2016
As teenager watching this show I loved it and the music too. Where is was filmed in the South of France, I visited maybe 10 years later it was done so well that driving through the place it was as if I had been there before. The best case of Deja vu I ever had!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2015
I remember this classic TV show from my youth. from the brilliant opening music, to the great acting duo of Moore & Curtis. Adventure, humour and loads of action. What more could you ask for in classic TV? Widescreen I guess? Mind you, it does not take you long once the action starts to forget its 4.3 square format & you can always stretch it to 16.9 if you had to I guess. Brilliant!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)