Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
24
4.7 out of 5 stars
Boys Don't Cry
Format: MP3 Download|Change


on 15 July 2017
Old school Cure. Not as polished as later albums but very good. This has a hint of the Banshees mixed with punk. A good example of the changes from punk to Goth/new wave.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2016
Why would anyone, record company execs or the band themselves, put out an album with the best track (World War) missing? Weird, And disappointing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2017
thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2017
Nice album,delivered on time. Thankyou.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 October 2007
This US alternative to The Cure's UK debut album includes their feted NME 'single of the week,' 'Killing An Arab.' Based on a shocking Albert Camus novel, 'The Outsider,' that has always fascinated me, this track is one of the high points of the New Wave era. The trio sound like a fledgling teenage band recording in their Mum's front room with cheap, basic equipment, yet the production is clear and their gift for invention turns each track into a compelling performance.
The title track is the poppiest item here, a single not included on the UK debut. The real interest lies in the inventive touches, such as the 'drip drip drip' of '10.15 Saturday Night' and the blood-curdling scream on 'Subway Song.' Frequently beaty, always cutting to the bone of human behaviour, the album also abounds with melodic hooks. This and the next two albums represent The Cure I remember most fondly.
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2002
How times change. If anyone had told me that Robert Smith and co. were to go from their inauspicious post-punk days to become one of the most well-known UK pop bands there'd ever been, I probably would have accused them of lying. If you're a fan of their later works, or even their not-so-later works, this album will certainly surprise you, but you will probably find it to be a pleasant one.
Displaying a heavy punk influence, especially from The Clash, it seems, Boys Don't Cry is extremely impressive in its own right. The sense of melody in Fire in Cairo, my personal favourite, shines through and displays perhaps the first inkling of Robert Smith's wonderfully abstract lyrics that would first start to show up in a couple of years on their 1981 release, Faith.
But overall, I find this album difficult to fault, other than that Robert's voice seems extremely raw in comparison to their more polished releases, but some may find this a plus point, rather than a minus one. I would recommend this to someone who has already bought a couple of Cure albums and wants to find out how diverse their style has turned out to be.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2003
Strictly speaking, this album is a combination of the Cure's debut album Three Imaginary Boys and the singles they released throughout 1979. I think it's a masterpiece for any amount of reasons. It's genius lies in the fact that it is superficially very easy listening (even your Granny could digest it) but is not typically mainstream. On seeing the wood from the trees, the listener is invited to experience the depth and power of twelve mind-blowing pieces of music. And The Cure also show that you can do more with less instruments - the album's minimalism is perhaps its main charm. Smith's vocals are also brilliantly raw - not the sort of operatic yodelling he attempted in his later career.Another Day is my perhaps favourite track ... I could go on ...
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2014
The American Version of The Cure's first album, with the addition of the single Killing An Arab.

A stunning punk pop masterpiece, you could say this is where New Wave began.

Only let down by the fact it doesn't contain the quite brilliant track Object that was on the British Version.

This is where it all began for Robert Smith and the gang.

Very, very highly recommended, a must buy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)