Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
21
4.2 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 May 2016
Very clever idea. Well written but poor end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
A very enjoyable and well written book. The plot is unique (in my experience) and a far cry from the young-hero-gaining-mystical-powers stereotype. The characters are interesting. The ending is more satisfactory than most 1st in trilogy books.

I have one, tiny, niggle (and when I tell you what it is, you will think me very petty). It's the demographic/geography detail. Most of the action takes place in a town of (we are told) 20,000 inhabitants. This place has nobility, a series of murderable dukes and relatives, a thieves guild and a very powerful assassins guild. It also has a number of districts. It isn't the capital, and in other ways seems like a provincial town.

Well, I have lived in places with 5,000, 65,000 and 500,000 inhabitants. Only the last of those could have supported such a diverse collection of groups - and then only just. In the pre-industrial 17th century, London would have been the only town in the British Isles to support the events of this book.

You are probably thinking 'what a ridiculous thing to get hung up on'. And I agree! I mention it for two reasons - firstly I did find it distracting, secondly, if this is all I could find to whinge about, then this is a VERY good book!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
Engaging and captivating...starts simple and interesting but as you get deeper into the book, the story, characters and plots thicken. I initially thought this is a weak version of Brent Week's Night Angel, but a wonderful book nonetheless.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
Despite the similarities with other stories, this story manages to keep its own unique slant on the basic premise and gives the reader a good time.

It's fast paced, full of engaging characters whether you love or loathe them, and it leaves a believable opening for more. Believe me, when you finish this one you are ready for more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2014
I chose this book due to the reviews and the cover if I'm honest and wow am I glad that I did.I struggled a little bit in the beginning as the story took a little time to get going but once it did 5 stars from me it has everything it is fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
I generally love fantasy and medieval books so this was right-up my street. It was slightly different from the many others in this category and had some really good characters with a mix of romance,martial artists and corrupt villains.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
A book that gets you hooked in the first few pages with great story and character you just have find out about and see where there story takes them . A well thought out book and will be buying the next in the series after this review.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
New approach to fantasy fiction very impressed now on book two already purchased book 3 would recommend to fans of fantasy
good character building with plenty of excitement built in .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
The book was a great read but the story was rather fast paced not leaving much to explore on but just bought no2 so hopefully more elaboration
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
I enjoyed reading this book, it's full of action with twists and turns, and good, and evil characters to boot.
Thank you.
Nick
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse