Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 27 August 2013
A quick web search will tell you, and Sony - if they cared to look, that there are product quality problems with the screen coating on many of their NEX series cameras. I have been ultra careful with my NEX 5N but the coating has still come off in a very unsightly fashion. Most cheaper screen protectors are clear all the way to the edge but this Sony one has a black border to mask their shame! It does a very effective job and makes the screen look like new again - apart from the odd cutout in one corner - why?

The BIG downside, apart from the preposterous price, is that the screen was virtually unusable in the bright sunlight present during my recent holiday in Italy. I ended up either squinting at it, shading it or guessing. Not brilliant I have to admit.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2013
This is a very good product for screen protection, it is a semi rigid construction and is simple to apply.
Some have problems including myself with applying the thin film type protector, problems with alignment, static on the screen creating microscopic specs of dust which after the screen is applied look like mountains, air bubbles and also after a relatively short time of heavy use, these films start to peel away at edges and corners.
With the Sony LCD protection screen, non of these problems exist, it is straight out of the box and applied easily to the screen. Worth the extra cost for the more professional appearance and the ease of application.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 July 2013
This is not a cheap protector screen but for a few pounds extra does seem a well made product and much better than a cheaper version I had been using. I was surprised at how scratched the old protector had become become so I'm hoping for much better results with this product.
If you have already bought a good quality camera this isn't much to pay to preserve the quality of the viewing screen.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2013
I've fit three of these and I've had no problem with any of them.

The material is a hard, semi-rigid plastic and as such doesn't have the problems you can have with a thinner foil that can get air trapped underneith.

Obviously it takes some care and the screen has to be spotless, but otherwise it's almost a breeze!

One point though: Amazon really need to get their prices right on this item. It's much cheaper direct from Sony UK!

Why only four stars? It's still not cheap even at their prices!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 October 2014
With a little care this screen is easy to fit at the first attempt and requires very little time to do it. Once fitted it looks as though it is part of the original Sony NEX 7 camera. In case the protector becomes marked over a period of time, I have bought another as a spare. So far there is no marking on the protector at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2015
This will not fit the Sony Nex 5R or 5TS (unless you fit it upside down).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 September 2014
Just what I needed to protect the screen on my NEX-7.Easy to fit and simple to keep clean.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2014
Used this for my NEX5 . Was really worried that I had damaged the screen but a you tube video showed how easy it was to replace the protective sheet (which I didn't even realise was there( and now my camera is as good as new again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2014
Much easier to apply than the thin film type.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2014
Seems to leave a moisture mark between the sheet and the screen. Also a bit expensive for what it is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)