Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
24
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 December 2016
Adequate proofing for Kindle - not that great.

I am finding this harder to enjoy by the second. It's just mindless.

Others have noted they found it funny. I have no creeping idea what they were laughing at.

It's banal. Waste an hour of your life and then delete it and read the back of a conflakes box or something.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
I read this book on holiday and laughed out loud so much it got quite embarrassing, particularly when I was also going 'Oh no, no' and thrusting the book away from me.

If you want some unpretentious pure entertainment I certainly recommend 'Marsh Heirs' although, in parts, it's not for the squeamish. A good yarn, culminating in mayhem and altogether jolly good fun.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2012
Reminisent of "Blot on the Landscape", a light hearted story of spirited people in their "what should be" twilight years".
The story is set in a run down country manor that has been sublet for the purposes of a nursing home. The residents and former Lord and Lady of the manor are far from ready to retire quietly.
The charatures are full of life and mischief, a lovely rebellion against the expectation of society on ther older generation.
The story follows the Lady of the manor and her desire to bring more excitement and cash into their lives, the Lord of the manor who can be found throughout the night like an elderly Dick Turpin pinching valuables out of parked cars and selling them to provide them with a meagre income.
The eldlery residents who were expecting a luxury manor house to enjoy their retirement years, only to find themselves in a run down, damp old house. Run by a middle age couple out to make a fortune from ripping off the elderly without the bothering to provide a decent service and resenting anything they are asked to do.
The plot thickens as the charatures get mixed up in some devious goings on, robberies, sex and even a murder...
The beauty of which is written with humour and respect for the readers ears. There neither excessive use of swearing of a graphical description of events. More of an adventure than had the misfortune to go slighty askew.
I thouroughly enjoyed this book adn would recommend it heartily to anyone with a sense of adventure and that knows that your body may get old, saggy and grey but your mind stays firmly in your youth.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2015
A really good read - sort of Tom Sharpe meets Arrested Development. I was inclined to think it was a bit far fetched in places - then you see the news on TV the these days and it makes it all seem quite refined!
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2016
Enjoyable romp in a damp crumbling manor house let out as an old people's home. They are mostly sex mad and either up for it, doing it, or regretting not doing it. A crazy set of circumstances and characters turn a routine outfit into a criminal enterprise with much hilarity and opportunities for sex.

A merry book, but an inadvisable read for the easily offended with no sense of humour.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2012
This is one of those afternoon plays on the radio or a short film on TV type book that you enjoy in the context it is given. However, a few weeks later you have forgotten the bulk of it.
I like this book, it was a pleasure to read and fun to follow as a tale. It is not a significant tale; it is a peek at life with a British slant and as such is a nice way to spend an afternoon reading. I think you have to be British to enjoy it, only we know how the upper classes can find themselves somewhat short of readies.
The humour is gentle, the cast is believable, and the story telling has a pace that suits the tale. A nice read a good afternoon play, just need a deck chair and some tea to go with it.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, knew the area and am retired myself, so it was a laugh out loud romp of retired people. Reminded me of Tom Sharp's comedies. good entertaining read.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
Although a black comedy this is a very light hearted book. The plot moves along at a cracking pace and is very funny if not a little sad in places. Really enjoyed it.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
Cracking little story, every one knows a person like one of the characters in the book, note a constant laugh out loud,but hard to put down,very good story, ended a bit sudden and felt like needed more straight away, did have many laugh chuckly moments would recommnd this
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2012
The book started out quite promising but quickly became a bit shambolic.
I did enjoy the story line and the sex crazed pensioners were amusing hence the three star rating but i wasn't inspired to look for any other books by the author.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.90

Need customer service? Click here