Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2012
What an amazing album! Bought without really knowing what to expect, but what I got was a review of the whole lifetime's work of this truly amazing artist. The album spans all Janis' songwriting and singing from the '60's to almost current times (2008). It was so intriguing to hear her voice as a 12 year old (Hair of Spun Gold), then middle, more uptempo songs (I Would Like to Dance, Fly too High, Let me be Lonely) and of course Jesse and At Seventeen, of probably her 20's/30's. I really love the later, more reflective slow songs, just Janis and her guitar (Some People's Lives, Through the Years, Today You're Mine) and the very emotional songs - (I Hear You Sing Again, When Angels Cry, Stars) - I have to ration myself when listening to these otherwise I go into total emotional meltdown. There is a great deal more - funny, uplifting songs but cannot mention all - just buy it and hear for yourself. I really enjoyed the DVD that goes with it too. Loved it - Wow!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
Always felt Janis Ian was the most underrated of the seventies singer song writers this has many of her early songs and some good newer ones the DVD is also more upbeat than was expected and showed what a great musician she is would have liked more info on the cover will have to get the book
PPP.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
if this was supposed to be a "Best of" it was poor I have many Janis Ian albums and though there were some old songs on I knew a lot I didn't and I didn't like them either.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2012
I've never bought a Janis Ian record before, however, I've heard her music quite a lot over many years (since the 70s), due to my friends owning various recordings. There is no doubt that Janis is a great songwriter.
Her use of words is impeccable and enhance your enjoyment of superbly crafted tunes - I don't think she has had the recognition due ?? Buy it, you won't be disappointed
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
Excellent value for money and I love Janis Ian so this was a great buy for me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2014
Just Janis Ian doing what she does best, a great live set DVD and great double CD which shows Janis Ian as the great artist she is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2016
Great songs from from one of the best singer songwriters
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2012
I saw janis live in concert a few months ago and her voice is still amazing .she sounds exactly like she does on this excellent cd and I would definitely recommend its purchase and if you get the opportunity to see her live go for it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2015
Great to hear the old songs again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2014
Excellent totally captivating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)