Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 August 2016
another fulci classic well recomended .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2010
This is one of those films where, given a choice, everybody makes the wrong decision and you find yourself asking why they're doing what they're doing or your shouting at them not to do what they're bound to do.
For example, the babysitter's decapitated head rolls down the cellar steps, you or I would probably lock the door and call the police but instead, the main character takes her kid down with a toy torch even though it's as black as the ace of spades at the foot of the stairs.
Even though there are moments of unintentional comedy, the bat scene is worth looking out for, this is a good, creepy film and better than the likes of 'The Exorcist' which has aged like an old turnip. The only down side is the young lads voice has been dubbed by what sounds like a middle aged woman and that might work for the likes of Bart Simpson but it doesn't work on a horror film.
An enjoyable tale whose moral is that, if there's ann oddball in your cellar, kill him and kill him again, just to make sure.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2009
!!!WARNING!MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS!!!

When an acquaintance of his, a Dr Peterson, commits suicide, Dr Norman Boyle(Paolo Malco) travels to Boston to continue his work. Accompanying him are his nervous wife Lucy(Fulci regular Katherine/Catriona Macoll) and his young son Bob. Bob keeps seeing a young girl called Mae, who warns him about the house they will be staying in, the Freudstein house. Nobody else meets Mae, so Bob's parents ignore his warnings. Soon they might have wished they had listened to their son, as strange things start to happen in the Freudstein house. What are the motivations of the strange babysitter Ann? Are the noises Lucy hears in the walls of the house real or imaginary and what evil lurks in the boarded up cellar?
This is probably Fulci's most satisfying horror film taken as a whole. Part of the 'Gates Of Hell' triology(or Quadralogy if you include Zombi 2), it is a very successful marriage of 'old dark house' mystery and blood and gore. It's dripping with atmosphere, visually stunning and is full of great performances. If young Bob appears whiny at times, well thats the fault of some awful dubbing, not the character himself, who is pivotal to the whole story. There is also the hideous Dr Freudstein, a living dead dessicated corpse who desires the flesh and blood of the living. A great, monsterous creation of Fulci's. There is also a terrific music score to round things off.
A word of warning about this DVD release. I bought it because it claimed to be fully uncut with a runtime of 90 mins. Well, it actually runs for just under 83 mins, and while the picture and sound quality are excellent, the incongriuities in the running times made me feel slightly cheated. I think sometimes you do get what you pay for. Anyway, my rating is 5 out of 5 for the brilliant film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2015
A family move from New York to a small Boston town. There they rent an old, large house unknown to them it was once owned by a crazed man- Dr Freudstein, soon all sorts of horrors start happening to the family and people at the house.

Outstanding Lucio Fulci horror which contains a lot of his best work. Almost certainly his most terrifying film, there is a very creepy atmosphere maintained throughout, tension & suspense are (especially in the lead up to the finale) remarkably high for a Fulci film and the jumps scenes are actually scary. The violence is strong - throats being ripped out, throat slashings and severed limbs & many others, but although gory it never detracts from the film if anything it adds to the tension and the make-up & gore effects are also great. A strong exploitation Italian cast- Paolo Malco, Dagmar Lassander, Ania Pieroni & (British) lead Catriona McColl all are very good, however Giovanni Frezza who plays young Bob is excellent and steels every scene he's in. If there are any minuses some may find the conclusion is a little incoherent (a fault with many Fulci films), however I didn't find it a negative at all indeed it added to the films feeling of the dead never die.

The film crosses several horror genre's, from haunted house, monster, splatter, possession and something I felt was strongest a kind of stalk 'n slash/slasher film. One of if not the best film on the video nasties list & also one of Fulc's greatest films, a wonderful terrifying film.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The title says it all folks. Even after the slip shod job Arrow did with "The Beyond" I wanted to give them the benefit of the doubt. Bad ieda! This will be the last Arrow release I purchase. This transfer makes "The Beyond" look like the Mona Lisa.

The transfer of "House" is the worst Arrow release I've had the displeasure of viewing. The whole prsentation is covered in constant video noise. And I'm not talking modest amounts here. The video noise is so severe you cannot even watch the film, as your attetion is constantly on the poor picture quailty!

I have a Sony 54" set and the video noise just overruns the picture to the point that I had to stop watching the film. Additionally it was encoded at a fairly low bitrate which further degrades the image by further removing fine object detail. I cannot believe that Arrow had the gall to release this title in such poor quality!

OK Arrow what is going on??? You claim to be the number one cult film releasing label in the world. You claim to value your customers. Clearly neither could be farther from the truth. You release title after title with terrible picture and audio quality, defective or wrong discs, and you expect die hard horror fans to keep buying your titles.

Wake up!!! We consumers are not morons! Can't be bothered do a decent mastering job? Don't care about quality control? Then close up shop and get out of town! Let another label fill the void that will treat horror titles and horror fans with the resepect they deserve. Your company should be ashamed of the garbage you put out. The low qaulity of your film tranfers is what really stikes fear into horror fans hearts and chills our blood.

And Amazon, you're not off the hook either. You condone Arrow by knowingly selling these discs, even in cases like "The Beyond" when you know they are defective. I spend a great deal of my hard earned wages on your site. I expect that in return you won't sell defective and subpar products like these Arrow films. You have a good reputation. I should think you'd work hard to keep it.

I want to call on all horror fans, who love these Fulci films as much as I do to email Arrow and Amazon. Tell them we want better releases. And let them know that we refuse to buy knowingly defective, poorly mastered films, that clearly passed through no quality control whatsoever. Only when we hit them where it counts-their bottom line- will they treat these horror films and the horror fans with the respect they deserve.

In this day and age, with all the film restoration and mastering technology there is simply no excuse for Arrow to be releasing films like this.

If Lucio could look at what you'd done to his films, Arrow would the the next one to be dragged down the stairs and into the cellar by Dr. Freudstein.
1111 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2011
The house by the cemetery is an old 1981 horror film. This says allot about the film it tells us not to expect the best horror or the most nasty effects. This film has not much off a plot as there isn't a great deal about the one who is the monster. There are random things with this film that seem a bit stupid as a grave stone in the middle of the floor when the house has a basement. There are also some old faults as on one scene a hard surface bends quiet easily by a child. The film isn't a compete waste of time as it is a bit funny as the monster reminded me of DR Satan from rob zombies amazing horror film house of 1000 courses. The acting is not the best and some parts are a little embarrassing. The dub on the film is better than for some films I have seen but subs are a more pleasant film experience.
This film is a funny film for a person of my Age but may have scared people from 1981. The film is a little slow and when I watched it it was really late and was falling asleep half way through.
I have given this film a 3 star for the funny aspect of the monster and the old special effects that are cheesy now. It did keep me entertained for a few hours. I like the fact its reminded me of house of 1000 corpses with the old horror style even if rob zombies was made in 2000. I believe it may have been a bit better if it had subs rather than dub.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
Go to special features then move your right directional onto the cross.It will fill up with blood press enter to reveal:
1.Sergio Martino on Mountain Of The Cannibal God
2.Luigi Sacchetti on Contamination and Censorship
3.Alternative Frezza Intro
4.Silvia Collatina
5.Lady Oscar trailer.
Hope this helps
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2000
Frightening,bizzare,gory and trippy horror film.The films plot is a mixture of many famous horror films,including the shining,frankenstien,dont look now and the amytiville horror.However this film is somehow more than the sum of its parts and is genuinly nightmarish and frightening. On seeing this film as a kid who had seen a lot of horror films,this was the one that made the most impression on me and my friends,and was talked about in school for years afterwards,(even my father was impressed by it!) I wont give away too much plot but the film is based around a scary house on the edge of a cemetery,the family that moves there ,a ghoulish monster and a terrible secret. Strange close up camera shots (in typical fulci style)permeate the movie,and terrible dubbing,but great creepy music,and very gruesome scenes.Not for the faint hearted! I highly recommend this film.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2009
House by the Cemetery arrives in the UK uncut, its about time! The film concerns a house that a young couple and their kid move into not knowing what danger they are in, someone is killing people and no-one in the house is safe, the sinister Dr Freudstein is supposedly behind it all but as the husband looks deeper into the mystery things take an unusual twist, if you're a Fulci fan this disc is a must have, if you don't like Italian horror or dubbed movies give it a miss. The film has a great transfer and some interesting special features making it a good version to get. All in all a great modern gothic horror with some decent gore, its a great addition to the cult horror fans collection, if you liked this you should look into some of Fulci's similar films such as The Beyond [DVD] [1981] [US Import] or City of the Living Dead [DVD] [1980] or Zombie 2 [DVD] [1979] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] which are all brilliant in my opinion.

Fulci Lives!
88 Comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2012
I like this film. I like the cool and dead looking creature, Dr. Freudstein. I also enjoy the dark synth and atmospheric
music of Walter Rizzati. Some people may think or thought it was the music of frequent Fulci collaborator,Fabio Frizzi,but
it is not.Their music actually sound quite similar in this film, so some may mistake it for Frizzi music.

Picture quality: 4/5

The picture quality was greatly improved from my Anchor Bay DVD. There is problems with DNR and noise like Zombi 2,
but not as much problems like Zombi 2. I think Zombi 2 has poorer and more use of DNR than The House by the
Cemetery.

The film grain is actually mostly noise mixed with grain. The DNR is noticable, but i have seen worse use of it as i said.
The things that are improved compared to the DVD is: black levels, blood & gore effects, colours, details and
sharpness.

Audio quality: 3.5/5

The English dub in the DTS-HD Master Audio 2.0 Dolby Surround remix, is actually a bit disappointing to me. I thought
the mix would sound a bit clearer music wise and with more bass. Yes, there is some Stereo effects and such. At least it
sounds improved compared to the lossy Dolby Surround 2.0 mix on the DVD.

Film: 4/5
Overall: 4/5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)