Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Absolute mess in terms of format. In fact, this version of The Raven is so bad I deleted the copy from my Kindle and went back to the book. I've given 3 stars, not 2, because the poem's in here although you have to dig around to find it. Presentation's dreadful. There is one bright note, if you can manage the old fashioned style and attitude, there's an introduction/analysis to the poem that offers a few interesting insights. So disappointed. This edition of The Raven is in danger of putting people off reading anything else by Poe. The Raven's possibly his best known work and deserving of so much more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2011
Poe and Dore what more do you need, From a literary point of view Edgar Allan Poe is A genius but i am an art student and a huge fan of dore so that is my main attraction to buying this book and what a fantastic buy it was! its size is awkward at a4 which i found strange ( i was expecting it to be smaller) but the images are high quality) Its only the one poem which lasts for a couple of pages but after that you have the treat of viewing dores work. My only gripe would be, the cover i hate the blue it destroys the image!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2016
The poem we all think we know, even if only from the Simpson's.

An actual classic in every sense of the word
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2010
Linebreaks in the wrong places, missing illustrations, and pages and pages of pretentious commentary before getting to the actual poem.

I would love for someone to create a nicely formatted version with the images.

Until then, you'd be better off googling the poem text, saving it as .txt, and emailing it to your kindle.
11 Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2009
The Raven is a brilliant poem, a perfect study for a grieving man's descent into madness. It is enjoyable enough on its own but Dore's illustrations are masterfully done and add to the sense of creepiness and claustrophobia created by the poem. A nice addition for fans of Edgar Allan Poe.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 December 2011
Gustave Doré's illustrations for Edgar Allen Poe's poem are gothic, dramatic, crowded with angels and spirits, revelling in light and shade. There are some technical errors - the suggestive cone of shadow repeatedly shown over the chamber door doesn't really make sense, and an ornithologist would be unlikely to identify the depicted bird as a raven! - but the eye-poppingness of the pictures overwhelms any failings. I'm always impressed by engravings because the artist has to attend to every square millimetre of the page - there's precious little 'white space' in such dark images - and that in turn compels the viewer's eye to rove over the picture, picking up details and relishing the light and forms.

The edition includes a page of commentary, the full text of the poem, and then the plates, all full-page, accompanied by the relevant lines. These Dover editions are lovely things to have around.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2011
The poem is constantly interrupted with people's names for some reason, makes it very hard to read. Very disappointed but then it is free.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2011
This effort isn't a very good example of how to do a Kindle book, even given that it's free. There is a long, rambling and sometimes incoherent introduction before you get to the actual poem. Formatting throughout is all over the place and the [illustration] tag should have been removed. I've removed this entirely from my Kindle. Very poor and not recommended.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2013
If you want an introduction to Poe's work then this is the (short) book for you. It's not my favourite Poe by a long shot but I find that knowing how it ends makes the entire thing better once you re-read it. This can be easily found online but this book also includes some nice illustrations. The foreword was interesting, if a little too long.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2015
I have previously read The Raven and wasn't disappointed with that aspect of this edition. I was hugely disappointed that the illustrations in this version were alluded to but not included. It was distracting, added nothing and distracted from this classic work
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)