Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 April 2014
A very good read and very informative of Dave Grohl a true lover of music and incredible multi talented musician. Points out the true dedication and heart he put in to his love of music and his admiration of past groups that influenced him. It also points out the problems of finding the right musician and recording studios. Also the problem of drugs ruing peoples lives. If you are a grunge or punk fan this is for you. My taste was always stuck in the 60s to 70's rock, blues, folk and progressive era and regret not keeping up to date with the later stuff the heavy metal punk grunge etc that my son is in to. I will also recommend watching the Sound City documentary that was shown on BBC4 and hope they will repeat it. I agree with him analogue recording is a true way of recording and not the cheating digital way. For those fans Dave Grohls friends, family and fans I salute and regret not being aware of a hard working genius. I hope one day when I am a healthier pensioner I can see him performing and enjoy mixing with his fans. Please buy this masterpiece of a biography.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
Great book interesting guy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
Prompt delivery, always like all things Dave!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2015
Such a great read very detailed, and funny chapters are long buy just a great excuse not to put the book down.
I laughed and chuckled through it the first couple chapters go over in better details his younger days whichninwill find which is covered I sonic highways - Washington I believe. A must for any rock or grohl fan
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
I found this very entertaining and as this was my first book on Grohl/Nirvana this was a very interesting read. Got me to listening Nirvana again...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2017
Brought this for a friend who gave up reading it. Too much information about other things not enough about Dave Grohl
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2017
Rock N' Roll! It's self evident that Dave Grohl was born to rock! Listening to Foo Fighters early records and some Nirvana records is evidence enough to tell you that. At the time of reading I had never seen Foo Fighters live and opinion is divided on reproducing the same sound and putting on a good show but they are a great live band. This book tells a great story about one man who put disaster behind him and put together his own band out of the ashes of Nirvana and has gone on to sell millions of records. He has also acquired the moniker the Nicest Guy in Rock. Why I don't know but I still think they are a great band and Dave Grohl is a cool dude
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2016
I can't remember how I came across this book but I read the sample and it seemed fairly interesting. I like a good Foo tune and the like and I really admire Dave Grohl's hair (Silkience and Pantene adverts aren't a patch on a Foo video) so I downloaded the rest and set to reading it.

The wealth of detail can be confusing for the uninitiated but it's worth persevering. Whether the reader gets to know Dave Grohl or not only the man himself could say but we feel like we do. The net result is that I no longer feel obliged to buy any Nirvana cds, although I'm sure I bought a tape of theirs years ago and promptly deliberately lost it to a friend because it didn't really inspire me, whereas when I first heard Echoes, Silence, Patience and Grace through noise cancelling headphones on a Virgin Upper Class flight to LA it just blew me away.

It was nice to be able to put everything into context.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
This is a really enjoyable read on Dave Grohl, tracing back to his early to being part of the best Grunge band on the planet, before fronting his own awesome modern rock band, a great read on a modern rock idol and true all round musician/singer songwriter!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
A real heart felt in-depth look into the life of one of Rocks greastest icons! It really shows why he is such a nice guy after the life he lived, through Nirvana and the Foo Fighters, and the tragedies along the way! A great read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)