Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
90
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 April 2012
If like me you were not taught the WW2 period of history at school and gleaned most of your info from films, tv, etc. then this is a great summary account of all the main campaigns and events that span the war years 1939 to 1945. There are also overviews of the main characters of the war, Hitler, Churchill, etc. towards the end of the ebook. All in all, a very inexpensive way to become acquainted with WW2 in a quick easy-access manner. Clearly there are a plethora of other, free, sites on the internet that cover this subject material in a lot more detail but this is neatly packaged together in an accessible format for a quick overview - which is sole purpose of the eBook I think.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
This book is very very concise and for that reason alone, it is very well written for a book on the whole of WW2. I undertook quite a bit of research merely into how to introduce myself to WW2 history in the most effective way and almost all the books I came across relentlessly launched me into ridiculous amounts of banal detail which I found both unnecessary and uninteresting.

This book invariably sticks to interesting facts and for all its succinctness; manages to relay the story in an engaging way with clear language in paragraphs & sentences and devoid of rare/defunct lexicon. It is a story told almost consecutively to events unfolding between 1939 and 45 and is nicely divided into sectioned chapters which are also anchor-linked directly to those portions of the book. This allows you to easily re-read a chapter and maybe use it as a springboard into deeper knowledge of an area you found particularly interesting.

It truly is a brilliant introduction into World War Two and became more & more engrossing as I read through. It does a good job at linking everything together and offering a precursor into the character of key WW2 figures. I recommend reading this using the the search facility and visuals of Google-maps; it'll provide a richer experience with geographical understanding of the story which I feel is crucial to the imagination.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2014
Felt very humble after reading this informative book and very grateful that I haven't ever experienced war. The information was easy to understand and read it also gave a very good basic understanding of the second world war, lets all hope there won't ever be another
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
If you want a quick and easy reference to major events of WWII then this Kindle download is well worth the effort. Clearly the detail will be short and incomplete, but it gives dates and major topics - further research may then be required for more in-depth knowledge, but a good title to have on my little electronic device...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
I love the in and hour series. This book helped me to see an overview of the war and put in context many of the stories about the war told to me by my parents and grandparents. It is a book to whet the appetite to follow the subject up in more depth.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
Read the First World War of this series first with this and you can learn a lot within two hours. There is also plenty of extra information crammed in of the dates and main characters involved in a terrible part of history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2014
This book does exactly what it claims to do. It tells everyday language the basic facts about what happened during the conflict we know as WW2. The idea of compiling "In an Hour" History Books is a good one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2012
This book is dealing with a subject far too coplicated to be dealt with in just an hour.This is the main reason why it is not so absorbing as World War two in an hour,as we are now dealing with War on a much bigger scale.Battles like Midway and Kohima are either glossed over briefly or ignored completely.
Nevertheless this is still an intresting hour or so,and well worth while for those who
are students and who want an overall picture of a dark period in our recent history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
Without going too deep, this book gives the reader a good history of the war , who the main people in charge were and how it was won. It explained quite a lot. Much of which I had forgotten since my school days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
...summary of the key facts of the most convoluted conflict in history. Most books on WWII are difficult to absorb because of the sheer wealth of information there is. This literally takes an hour and a bit to read and is absolutely perfect.

Younger readers 11+ would benefit greatly by adding this to their libraries too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)