Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
223
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£9.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 September 2011
The World of Downton Abbey" is a beautiful companion book to this wonderful television show --- you can see that it was put together with a lot of thought and attention to detail! It is a hardcover book printed on glossy paper, and on its 303 pages it offers a wealth of pictures and information.

The book begins with a foreword by series creator Julian Fellowes and is split into 9 different sections after that:

Family Life
Society
Change
Life in Service
Style
House & Estate
Romance
War
Behind the Scenes

It contains not only tons of background information about the show but also lots of interesting tidbits about life shortly before and during the First World War. There are lots of pictures from the show, of course, but also original photos from the era it is set in as well as war posters, costume sketches, etc.!

In my opinion, The World of Downton Abbey" is one of the most gorgeous and lavishly designed companion books ever to come along!
22 Comments| 126 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2011
This book is a must to accompany the series. It tells you a few secrets without give too much away. The photo are wonderful and it's a lovely book to leave around on the coffee table. If you only buy one book this year, make sure it's this one. I'm sure like any other Downton Abbey fan, you'll love it.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2012
I bought it for my girlfriend as a Valentine present as I knew she's a big fan of Downton Abbey. She really appreciated that and was very happy to treasure it among her DA collectables. Before wrapping it up I must admit i gave a look at it and can say it's a stunningly made and written companion book, Loved the pictures and the details about the show and the real life info about the era.
I do recommend it, indeed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2016
Good DVD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
Great thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2011
Despite having read other reviews, I was still pleasantly surprised to see the quality of this book. The presentation is absolutely beautiful with a hardcover and glossy dustjacket, it has full colour images throughout and fascinating, well written content that covers not just the behind-the-scenes of the show, but exactly how everything fits into the historical context. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2011
This book scored me so many Brownie points with the wife...

It is packed with information in a way that is so easy to dip in and out of. My wife is addicted to her iPad but she has even laid that to one side to read this book.

The photographs and imagery are excellent - I am a Professional Photographer and Graphic Designer & very fussy.

This book would deserve 10 stars at double the price! Superb!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2011
What a book!!! I couldn't put it down it's absolutely fascinating. Clearly written and beautifully photographed. This book is a must for all lovers of the TV series. The added information given from people who have actually been involved in the day to day running of large houses just added to the pleasure of the whole book. It will certianly be a book I will go back to again and again.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2011
A delightful and beautifully produced book, giving an insight into the background of the story and the views of the actors taking part. Ths is a book that one can dip in annd out of as and when and discover something new and undiscovered before. Amazon have produced this book at an amazing price, and it has been a pleasure to read it and shall continue to read it. A quality book and a necessity if one is a fan of Downton Abbey. I recommend this book whole-heartedly
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2011
This is a fantastic book!!!!The information on the making of Downton Abbey and with the 'behind the scenes' colour photos makes this book just the one to have on the coffee table.I can guarantee that for anyone that's interested in period dramas this is a must have book.There is also plenty of interesting historical facts spread through it's pages.This is book I shall be reading for a good long time.
0Comment| 71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)