Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
13
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£12.51


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 September 2012
If you want to find out more about the time that Jesus lived, and the effect he had on the people around him, read this book. Although technically a work of fiction, it is founded very strongly on social history for the area and time, and on relevant biblical texts. For me, this book has added an extra dimension to my appreciation of Jesus' life, and has given a greater understanding to why things turned out as they did (although we know that the actions of the Chief Priests and the Sanhedrin helped fulfil God's plan). And when you've read this, because I recommend that you do read it, you should read 'The Robe' by Lloyd C Scott, which is even more stunning.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2016
This is written in the manner of Nigel Tranter in the past with Scottish history. Not quite finished yet. He writes in first tense as a local merchant who has been got at by Pilate. He hears stories about this troublemaker Jesus and is report to P.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2012
Fantastic novel style writting, but packed with theological truths, genius way to get the gospel over, and teaching in a intrigueing story
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2002
This has been one of the most memorable books I have ever read. It does not introduce Jesus directly to people but follows characters who would have met him or heard about him. It made me think about what life was like for people in those times and what they would have thought about Jesus and the challenge and impact his teaching and existence would have had on their daily lives. Its very easy to read and thoughts and questions come naturally to the reader because the book is so interesting.
11 Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2010
I enjoyed this book so much that I'm now reading it again. I very rarely do that.

This is a cross between a novel and a look at the historical Jesus. It's written in a very engaging style and you never know what's going to happen next.

If there was one thing that has ever opened my eyes to the political context that Jesus was in, this is it. And frankly, now I feel that the only way we can even start to stay we understand the historical Jesus is by looking at his context.

A nice spin-off in the novel format is that you are likely to remember things you might forget if they were presented in a traditional way. Your mind will be full of images of the past, all based on history and scholarship.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2006
Although Gerd Theissen is a giant among modern New Testament (NT) scholars, this little novel happily avoids the typical academic approach with a refreshing, informative and rewarding read.

Theissen vividly and imaginatively explains his understanding of NT history - but he makes it fun! By creating a believable character, giving him a family, friends - and enemies, a job and a life to lead, Theissen successfully and eloquently transports the reader back two thousand years. There were many different ways of "being Jewish" in Jesus time, with various points of conflict. This book allows you to not just see these tensions, but to begin to really understand them: why were some Jews decidedly pro-Roman rule? Why were others complete isolationists? Why did some believe in raw violence? And how could they all claim to honest, devout Jews? No wonder Israel had been on the verge of civil war for centuries!

And what of the Romans? And their puppet rulers, like Pilate or Herod? Where they mad, bad or delusional? Or were they essentially good people? If some of his historical conclusions may be questioned (though not very many), Theissen is careful to explain his theological and historical deductions so you are free to disagree if you wish. That alone makes this book an admirable achievement - and it shames many a high-brow theological text book in the process.

This is history and theology for the ordinary bloke-on-the-street who likes a good read: If you're interested in the lives of soldiers and politicians, or if you're interested in how people build (and break) relationships in various circumstances, there will be something here for you. I loved it!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2009
A fascinating insight into 1st century Palestine at the time of Jesus.

It's a bit of a slow start though, as Geissen writes like some of my essays in exams when I was at school - i.e. writing everything you know without actually answering the question.

However, as Andreas, the main character, gets closer to finding Jesus, the book sharpens its focus and is a lot more interesting.

The Lost Letters of Pergamum is also worth a try if you want a fictional novel set in 1st century times.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2010
This book came recommended for a course I'm on. It's a good read and I'm glad I bought it. The way the story is told helps the reader to take in much of how things may well have been for those living 'in the shadow' of the events of Jesus life. This is a well researched historical novel and a good way to vary some of your learning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
A very imagnitive book - mostly novel, but deeply researched. This provides a good background of the life and times of Jesus. A bit political in places, but helps the reader to understand the contextual motive and meaning to the persecution of Jesus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2015
I bought this book to take with me on retreat to Galilee. It looks ideal as it gives a real-life first-century take on life in the Land of the Holy One.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here