Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 6 April 2013
This book can best be described as a spy procedural, as it contains lots of details of how the system works all set against a detailed description of life in the British Embassy in Rome in the 70's. Well plotted, it always encourages you to turn the page, even if the writing style is quite formal. Lead character, who fronts a series of books is Peter Craig, a Forirn Office policeman, is a bit of a lamb amnongst the wolves of cold war espionage. I was well entertained and will seek out some of the rest of the series when I want some entertainemnt.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 July 2013
I had a real job to read this book, I really didn't understand the story or the point of the book. I'm not a great reader but I do enjoy a good read and know a good story when I'm faced with one - I just didn't get it; reading this to the end has been something of a grind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2015
Who did the proof reading on this book? There were so many typos, I lost count, but it's a good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2013
a gripping read based on what appears to be a well informed background of the genuine spy business with an interesting development of the main character Peter Craig
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2015
Enjoyed this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 August 2013
Too detailed and outdated. Deals with the minutiae of embassy life but no imagination. Not on my hit list at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 June 2013
VERY amateurish! I gave it my full attention but still found it 'lacking!' Probably wont bother to read any more of his books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2013
The book is set some 40 or more years ago and seems to have been written for readers in the days before Lady Chatterley's Lover was deemed not to be obscene. The dialogue is unrealistic and rather child like. They don't exactly say "bloomin heck" but come close to it. The plot, such as it is, was all rather laboured. None of the characters had credibility or believability. I was never 'gripped' and this is essential for any reader of books of this genre.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2012
This is a classic spy novel, written when the cold war was still in full swing. It gives a wonderful insight into those times, with the all the romance and paranoia of espionage that went along with it. Plus its a cracking thriller, with a smart, smooth hero, that keeps you guessing all the way along.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2015
Spy in Chancery is a highly intelligent Cold-War-era espionage thriller set in Rome in the 1970's where intelligence tricks such as, pseudonyms, dead letter-boxes, and secret passwords were used along with a great number of code breaking technologies.

Peter Craig is an undercover policeman who is called in by the Secret Security Service (S.3) to help them find a KGB spy somewhere in the British Embassy, as one of their MI6 agents has just been murdered. Craig has no connection with the Intelligence Service or with BX.32'8s activities and the S.3 supply him with the perfect cover story on his mission to Rome where he is expected to attend an Interpol meeting that will last for two weeks and also carry out a security inspection at the British Embassy. After a short briefing on his forthcoming mission Craig arrives in Rome where he meets another security agent who will help him along with Sir Watkyn (Ambassador of the English Embassy) who is keen to find out which member of his staff is the traitor, despite the fact that he has a great dislike for the spy business. Craig soon begins to narrow down a list of possible suspects and has them followed in an attempt to gather evidence against them and eventually discovers a breakthrough that will give him an advantage and keep him one step ahead of the spy, unaware he may be risking more than his own life and the lives of more innocent people in this complicated game of high-level politics, covert missions and secret agency cover ups.

In summary, "Spy and Chancery" is an exceptionally well written espionage thriller with a number of un-predictable twist and turns that will leave the reader turning those pages well in to the night to discover what happens to these wonderfully strong, well-developed and likable characters'
This is the first book I have read in the Kenneth Benton Spy Series and can honestly say I am hooked and cannot wait to read more of this late authors work.

My Ranking:5 Stars

My Review Sites:
http://walkerputsche.wordpress.com/
http://catherineroseputsche.webs.com/
http://t.co/G0ExZgmlwc
https://twitter.com/Putsche73
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6867405.Catherine_Rose_Putsche
Amazon
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here