Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
8
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 January 2012
I feel inspired to write a review after listening to this CD a few times now. I am not much of a writer and I don't suppose or propose to do any other reviews unless something very unusually good comes along. The other reviews capture some of the qualities of the music. Yes - it is very glossy. Some of the synth sounds used will remind you of the 80's, some will remind you of rave hoovers and some are just plain crazy.

I was stuck in a traffic jam having just purchased this, so I put it into the CD player..... the cars in front and behind must have thought I was having a fit or something. I was smiling all the way home and listened to it around three times - although arrived home with a bit of a headache.

I suspect this CD will be like Marmite to many - you'll either love it or hate it. I found the tunes intelligent and thoroughly enjoyable. The production is crisp, I find the tempo a good 'head nodding' tempo and the sounds and instrumentation are crazy (but not in my opinion a mess). It is very noisy and full-on / relentless but for me personally very very enjoyable. Not normally the type of music I listen to at all - and I suspect there aren't too many other albums like this around.

Thank-you Rustie for doing something different that put a smile on my face!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
I really enjoyed this album, it has some great tracks on it and if you're a fan of electronic music, it is well worth a buy. Comes highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
The most fun an album can be. I'm still listening to it 3 years on and really looking forward to Green Language. Would highly recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2011
Trying to describe Rustie's sound would take a while, 'Glass Swords' is a mash-up of everything thats good and bad and worse still in music and video games in the last 30 years, glossed over with the most shiny 1980's sheen you could imagine. Imagine snorting a kilo of Haribo's and you might have some idea where Rustie is coming from.

The album is a frantic mess, when it works its pretty special, but when it doesn't its annoyingly bad. 'Hover traps', 'City Star' and 'After Light' is Rustie on form, perfectly balancing a dizzying array of sugar-coated musical styles with supreme skill, his production skills really come to the fore. But the rest of the album is a self-indulgent mess, using an array of digital excesses bordering on the ridiculous. And it's such a fine line that Rustie has cut, so many tracks fall from the sublime over the edge to fluorescent meltdown.

'Glass Swords' is probably the most in-your-face record you will hear all year, be prepared for a technicolour onslaught, at its best it's as candy-floss pixel-perfectly formed as you could dream of. As refreshing as this album is, Rustie could have done with not throwing everything into the musical melting pot all the time. 'Glass Swords' does not feel of its time, but unfortunately its myriad influences are what lets it down, chiefly the 1980's technicolor sound. The flashy synth chords and slap-bass samples just start to annoy you, in fact the whole 80's synth funk smacks of naff. Its as if he's trying to out-do his Glaswegian funk-bass mate Hudson Mohawke.

"Glass Swords' is all about the rush, the energy, amped to the max with no let-up. If you can handle 40 minutes of such high-octane euphoria, you'll love this album. But for me, Rustie is trying too hard, using too many ideas, and ends up confusing himself and us in the process.
44 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2011
Trying to describe Rustie's sound would take a while, 'Glass Swords' is a mash-up of everything thats good and bad and worse still in music and video games in the last 30 years, glossed over with the most shiny 1980's sheen you could imagine. Imagine snorting a kilo of Haribo's and you might have some idea where Rustie is coming from.

The album is a frantic mess, when it works its pretty special, but when it doesn't its annoyingly bad. 'Hover traps', 'City Star' and 'After Light' is Rustie on form, perfectly balancing a dizzying array of sugar-coated musical styles with supreme skill, his production skills really come to the fore. But the rest of the album is a self-indulgent mess, using an array of digital excesses bordering on the ridiculous. And it's such a fine line that Rustie has cut, so many tracks fall from the sublime over the edge to fluorescent meltdown.

'Glass Swords' is probably the most in-your-face record you will hear all year, be prepared for a technicolour onslaught, at its best it's as candy-floss pixel-perfectly formed as you could dream of. As refreshing as this album is, Rustie could have done with not throwing everything into the musical melting pot all the time. 'Glass Swords' does not feel of its time, but unfortunately its myriad influences are what lets it down, chiefly the 1980's technicolor sound. The flashy synth chords and slap-bass samples just start to annoy you, in fact the whole 80's synth funk smacks of naff. Its as if he's trying to out-do his Glaswegian funk-bass mate Hudson Mohawke.

"Glass Swords' is all about the rush, the energy, amped to the max with no let-up. If you can handle 40 minutes of such high-octane euphoria, you'll love this album. But for me, Rustie is trying too hard, using too many ideas, and ends up confusing himself and us in the process.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2011
I'm on my third listen of Rustie's new album and am loving it more each time. The tracks are fun and catchy and make you want to dance! (yes it's a bit childlike but I enjoy that kind of thing - it's happy music that puts you in a good mood). Thoroughly recommend buying this album - you'll listen to it a lot!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2012
Simply put, this album is outstanding, addictive and a fantastic mix of music/samples that are familiar in a nostalgic (yes, its cheesy!) mash up. I cant stop listening to it on a loop and is an instant all-time favourite. Love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2012
Cover art: Illuminate pyramid, phallic symbolism, the glowing sun as the Eye of Horus. Musically, more of the same old over produced, brick-wall limited, electronic 'urban' sh*ite.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)