Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

The Woman [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.35+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 3 August 2014
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2012
It's an extremely good film! Very scary and jumpy, but at least it was in perfect condition! A really great buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 August 2015
Nice build up. Great finisher...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 May 2013
this film is well put together a few twist and turns which makes you think what's going to happen next and enjoyable to whatch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2013
Amazing movie - been a while since a film has left me lost for words!

If you like Hills Have Eyes, Devils Rejects etc, you will love this!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2013
This one really suprised me with how good it was. The story and the characters were all very interesting, the villains despicable...It is very gory though so consider yourselves warned.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 March 2015
Was of good quality
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 October 2014
twisted horror film a must see
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 January 2012
Took a chance with The Woman, which I bought on the recommendation in The Fortean Times. Certainly haven't been disappointed. This is a very stylish gorefest, from the stunning opening scene of a new-born baby being licked by a wolf to the satisfyingly gruesome climax, which will leave you pondering what happens next. Along with the violence and gore, there are plenty of elements of black humour and irony too, which I regard as an essential component of any decent horror movie. The brutality is often sudden and shocking, particularly when delivered by a youngster and, in its mysogynistic capacity, could possibly be compared to recent eurotrashy torture-porn such as Frontieres and Martyrs. I felt though that The Woman is a far more well-rounded and entertaining movie than either of those efforts.

The standard of acting is very good - most notably from Scottish actress Pollyanna McIntosh in the title role, who switches from pitiable martyred victim to feral savage predator with consummate ease, and the children, played to perfection by Lauren Carter and Zach Rand. Sean Bridgers, as the bullying control-freak dad, could be accused of hamming things up a bit but, in the context of the story, this is understandable.

I reckon most clued-up horror fans will guess pretty well what's going to happen, but there is a twist (and pretty darn twisted it is!) along the way and the film's denouement is highly satisfying.

Blu-ray presentation is excellent, with some incongruously beautiful scenery that contrasts effectively with the claustrophobic excesses of the Woman's confinement and there's a great rocking soundtrack and effective 5.1 sound too. Plenty of extras, including a very comprehensive and illuminating making-of, complete this enjoyable horror-romp.

Obviously not oscar material (are horror films ever?), but The Woman is more intelligent than most movies in this genre and deserves a place in every gorehound's collection.

PS. watch right to the end of the credits and there's a strange little short semi-animated sequence featuring the youngest daughter. I've got an idea about the relevance of this but would be interested in other viewers' opinions as to what to make of that.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2011
I thought this was going to be the usual type of horror film, but I was surprised. To reveal the story would spoil it for others, but if you enjoy gory horror with many twists, then this is for you. You will not be disaappointed, and I am surprised it was even given an 18 certificate.
How a picture like this one has managed to escape from people asking for it to be banned is beyond me. as it would be the best publicity the film could ever have. The more people complained, the more would want to see it!
I am not a squeamish person, but even I had to look away a couple of times! A terrific film you will never forget
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Pet [DVD]
£3.70

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)