Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
50
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 October 2013
This was the second book I've read by Alan Furst. I'd started with the 2013 Mission to Paris which I gave just three stars. However for the Night Soldiers the stars are lined up like medals in an NKVD general's chest on May Day.

The book ranges across countries, cultures and time in a gripping tale where treachery is the principal human attribute. Like other fact-ion books I've enjoyed there has clearly been a lot of research by the author to provide period detail to this tale which sparkles with grim authenticity.

Occassionaly the corruption and betrayal can be a bit overwhelming and I don't think the book made me smile once. Except perhaps at the end. Unlike many books and films I've seen recently the ending of this tale is very satisfying. I'll definately download more of his books but perhaps start at the oldest Furst ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
This book by Furst is notable for its plot which is extremely interesting as it moves through time and place. It has a different feel to his usual offerings even if you know that the leading character is going to survive ,( sorry if that spoils anything , but in Furst's books they always do ) and that he is thin and dark and women like him...they always do.
Furst is a really good writer and if you have a taste for the cloak and dagger of wartime espionage , then you will love this. The research would seem to be of the highest order and if this is your first book by this writer then you have a real treat to come because there are many more of similar quality to look forward to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
I found it difficult to finish. Over-complicated plot and an ornate and overblown writing style. The plot put a strain on one's patience.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2010
I have come to Alan Furst quite late - via a Twitter recommendation from Sir Christopher Meyer, formerly UK ambassador to the United States. The interplay between the principal characters, along with the various secret agencies of the Soviet Union, France the US and UK is skilfully done. You want to turn the page once you have done that you feel you have learnt something of real value about the Pre WW2 era. He deserves a bigger audience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2012
Night Soldiers is a brilliant book, atmospheric, threatening, dark, intelligent; but ultimately life-affirming.
Alan Furst writes very well and treats his audience as intelligent people, without spoon-feeding them all the answers.
Reading this has made me want to read the others in the 'series', and I have already started the second book.
Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2016
A good read, on the literary end of spy novels the pursuit of which frustrated the story at times, but also some vivid prose and engaging characters. I was somewhat disappointed by how one or two of them are summarily positioned at the end, but well worth the read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2013
Very enjoyable, very well written. Another quality book from Alan Furst. No shortage of locations and plenty of adventure. One star lost as it isn't an unputdownable book and it fades a bit towards the end
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2011
Beautifully crafted with an epic scope. The many strands of the story pull together seamlessly. I was completely absorbed from begining to end. The portayal of wartime Paris was beautiful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
I totally enjoyed this book. It reeled me in from the start and kept me gripped to the very end. Great tension and so many paths the story could have taken. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
An involved saga, Moscow spy school, the Balkans, Spanish Civil War,pre war Paris and the resistance.
Good history and very real charachters, but not a quick read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here