Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 26 September 2012
This was an excellent purchase.
I bought the item due to loosing my GoPro on a diving trip, luckily it was found. Now when using it around water i use the 'Floaty Backdoor'.
It keeps the camera afloat perfectly and the bright orange is easily seen. It is not overly buoyant so can be taken to depth easily and the foam will compact under pressure without damage.
The product kept my GoPro afloat inside the dive housing with a lanyard attached as well! Highly recommended!
Thanks
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2017
To be honest I purchased this af ew years ago and have never actually used it. It has always been more convenient to use a lanyard or wrist strap and still have sight of the back of the camera. Nothing looks to be wrong with it, I just struggle to see a situation where there is not a better solution
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 September 2013
Bought this as I thought it would be a good idea to attach it to the back of my GoPro when I'm out at sea to avoid losing the camera, if it were to come off the mount.

I have to say this works absolutely brilliantly! It floats the GoPro, even with a mount+battery BacPac and is still clearly visible with the high-vis orange colour it is coated in.

I would recommend this to anyone who does a lot of GoPro filming in/around water - as this could potentially save you an awful lot of money!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2012
You get what you pay for. A floaty backdoor. It sticks on (very firmly) to an additional case door sent with it, and does indeed work to keep your GoPro bobbing on the surface and not swimming with the fishies! As the float is squishy I am not convinced the GoPro would make its way back to the surface from great depths (neutral buoyancy achieved once the air is compressed/removed). The deeper I took it the slower it seemed to cruise up through the water column until I was convinced it was just hanging at the same depth. But for splashing on the surface- swimming- kayaking- fishing etc. etc. it is perfect peace of mind that you cannot lose it (to depth anyway).

The one negative is the thickness of the float. While providing buoyancy it does limit functionality slightly. Your camera will not sit on the head strap (unless you're happy filming your feet) and the camera has to be squeezed through a tighter gap when removing from the case.

Nevertheless a cheap bit of insurance, imo.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2013
This product is good - it does exactly what it says. However if you expect your go pro to hold more weight than its own self and still say floating - this isn't going to happen - e.g. if you have a camera pole extension - this will be too much weight for it to handle.

I do not suggest that you do what some surfers to which is - when lack of place to fix gopro on your board occurs - do not hold bite the foam between your teeth to hold it - the glue isn't strong enough to work like this! Stupid but lots of people seem to do it..
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2013
Stunned by how small this is, but certainly adds piece of mind around water. Myself and a friend used these on a recent water course in Wales although they weren't needed in anger fortunately I did try mine with a gorilla pod attached, it provided enough buoyancy to easily keep both afloat, with enough of the float above the surface to make it easily visible. Def a must for any gopro user intending to use in or around water.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2016
Does exactly what it says on the tin. worth the extra money to keep your GoPro floating, just in case the worst were to happen!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 November 2013
Great item...does what it says it will...keeps your GoPro afloat. The colour ensures you can see where it is if you do let it go as well. I practiced wit mine in the pool and I left it happily bobbing around for a while taking a video of feet swimming by.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2014
Great floatation device for an expensive piece of kit - GoPros aren't exactly cheap!
Fantastic protection - definitely recommend.
However please take note you still have to be super cautious when taking your go pro in the waves etc!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 September 2015
Much better than the Gopro version as it can be removed from the waterproof housing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)