Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 April 2013
One reading alone and you only scratch the surface of its content. You have to reread and take notes and you say to yourself this ought to be read by cynical editors. A valuable resource to set against negative headlines.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
Mind blowing book. One in the eye for all the doom mongers, this book has made me more optimistic about the future of the world for our children. Very well written, this book has something to interest you on every page.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
An excellent book and beautifully written. Steven Pinker's statistics based argument lifts the discussion of human nature out of the usual left/right political rut to reveal a much more positive view of human morality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2011
Steven Pinker has done it again. This is a big book, but it has to be: Pinker has collated an enormous amount of data to show that humanity has become less violent as it has become more civilised (not as obvious a correlation as you might think). And he does it with thorough objectivity: no manipulating facts to fit a theory here. This is an audacious book in its central claim, but the arguments are put forth with precision, backed up by graphs and an appendix of annotation that is almost a book in its own right. And, as always, Pinker writes with that accessibility that he has become renowned for. Can't recommend it highly enough.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2015
Fantastic book. Very readable, very convincing.

Everyone should read this. Brilliant for combatting those "Things haven't changed and never will" attitudes you come across in arguments.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2014
This was a brilliant read. It is meticulous in its findings and engaging in narrative. It is something I would recommend to anyone who has even a passing interest in the naked ape's capacity for violence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
Despite the many voices that state the opposite,things are actually getting better .The author brings a mass of data together to prove that assertion and then analyses the reasons for those improvements.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2011
This is a well researched and fascinating book. I agreed with its conclusion before I bought it (or perhaps that's why I bought it) but the facts and evidence produced to substantiate the central argument - that the world is vastly safer than most people perceive - is compelling. It is a well written and entertaining read. I would recommend it unreservedly.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
This is an important contribution to our knowledge. The arguments are supported by evidence. Best of all it gives an insight into how we all may continue to press for less violence in civilization.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
Steven Pinker's book lays out compelling evidence that we currently live in the least violent, most peaceful period in human history. His painstaking scholarship is deep and complete. A must read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)