Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
13
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 October 2010
It must be said that Motown is one of the most successful record labels in the history of popular music, because of the number of hopeful artists that entered its doors and came out contributing a vast catalogue of classic songs. Berry Gordy's vision became a reality through the structure of a well run company that trained and refined its artists to become the stars we know today. Whilst previous books have rightly highlighted this, it has been well documented that certain artists were shown preferential treatment, whilst others experienced a rough deal.Florence Ballard was one of those. Although Peter's book chronicles the rise and fame of Flo along with her fellow Supremes, he has thoroughly researched the years of heartache and decline before her untimely death.
It was when Peter was working as a journalist that he was approached to follow up a newspaper story about Florence Ballard living on state benefits. He tracked her down and was granted permission to interview and record her struggles. The interview forms the basis of the book and is further supported by those who knew her well. I won't say anymore so as not to spoil the read for anyone interested in buying this book. But I will say that Peter Benjaminson has written an honest and frank account of how Florence Ballard set out to get what was rightfully hers. I rate this book among the best I have ever read.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2016
Excellent book. Florence really was the lost Supreme. It was a shame that Motown could not have had the foresight to cultivate this lady's wonderful voice. I would have loved to see this lady in concert. Flo will never be forgotten.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2009
Im 15 years old, i love motown, and have since i was 13, i got this book for my birthday, and haven't put it down!

poor old flo and the way she was cheated out of her millions, and as much as this pains me to say this, she did play apart to she road of poverty, but her part was very small, just mistakes, silly mistakes.

this book is very good, i recomend it.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
Florence Ballad book is the best book i have read about her so far ,i enjoyed reading this book .
Lost Supreme: The Life of Dreamgirl Florence Ballard goes into ballad`s childhood her fight with racism ,her many brothers and sisters and her fight to get her group into the big time.

where this book shines is the legal and her legal fight with motown for the money she was cheated out of and her sad tragic decline into poverty.this book is little on the short side with only 178 pages the rest of the book is court documents and album list of ballad`s career.
Very short but informative book worth buying if you are interested in this tragic story....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
FLORENCES OUSTING FRM THE SUPREMES HAS BEEN MUCH CRITISED BUT THE BOTTOM LINE IS U CANT HAVE AN OUERWEIGHT DRUNKEN MEMBER IN THE WORLDS TOP GIRL GROUP.MISS ROSS HAD THE BEST VOICE TO FRONT THE GROUP.TO CONFIRM THIS LISTEN TO THE CD THE SUPREME FLORENCE BALLARD.THIS IS A SAD STORY BUT PREDICTABLE
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
The book is really good some parts become depressing because of the ill treatment she receieved. It's a good read and would love to see this book as a movie.
General: came on time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
Great story about a tragic victim of fate. By far the best singer in the Supremes but wasn't prepared to sleep with the boss to get on.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2015
Sad to think that Florence was dead at 32, just 5 years after leaving the Supremes. Gordy and Motown threw fame at her feet and then broke her. Where did the love go.......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2015
The story of the best Supreme, the one who started the group, the one who came up with the Supreme name. The one who was ripped off by Motown and died penniless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
Brilliant insightful book. Sad she died at such a young age and that people including those she thought were friends abused her and left her with nothing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)