Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 12 June 2004
The book is useful in showing you step by step pictures of some ways to alter books such as; altering the covers, embellishing, making little drawers, cutting shadowboxes etc and it does have useful tips from the author for each technique. However, I just seem to be missing something with this book. I didn't really find it inspirational and it didn't really make me want to go out and cut up some books either (which is what it is in essence). I found there was a lack of substance to why you would want to do this, but if you already have your own ideas then it may be a good guide to show you how to go about it.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2017
sometimes one is glad they did not pay full price for these books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2007
The art of altering books is a very particular one - it is something that interests and intrigues you, or it doesn't. If you are an expert on the subject, you will probably not find this book particularly useful: It is, after all, a 'workshop'. It advertises itself as containing '18 techniques for self-expression'. It doesn't suggest anywhere that it might contain a gallery of other artists' work. What it does suggest is that it will introduce you to the concept of altered books, and tell you how to get started. And it does exactly that. Bev tells you how to choose a book, and how to begin. The ensuing chapters show you in detail how exactly to carry out the techniques you might like to use to make your book attractive and interesting. She explains everything - including how, on page 25, to prevent pages sticking together if you paint more than one at a time! She gives tips about positioning your papers and embellishments, with clear photos all the way. She shows mistakes - and tells you how to make things right. If you have a desire to take on a project of this nature, Bev will take you through it, step by step.

I like this book very much. It has lots of ideas to try. It also takes the fear out of beginning something new. Altering books is surprisingly daunting - but Bev gives you permission to just begin. Contrary to being uninspired by this book, I have rushed out and bought myself a book to play with from the charity shop. I have followed her advice not to be intimidated, but just to start, and I have begun an adventure, secure in the knowledge that I have friendly advice on hand. Even if you aren't sure that altered books are your thing, the ideas could be used in collage, cardmaking and ATCs. And if you already enjoy modern paper crafting, you'll no doubt have pretty much everything you need on hand.

I don't have any criticisms of this book, personally. But I do think that if you are straight from a scrapbooking background, you may find that the style, which is much more messy and freestyle, takes a little getting used to. I would unhesitatingly recommend this book to you if you are at all interested in altered books, particularly if you have a secret longing to have a go, but feel a little scared. With Bev's help, you'll be sloshing paint and ripping up paper in no time.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2010
This book was recomended by a friend, and I love her for that! It is a great book, with lots of ideas and easy to follow instructions. The book takes you on a journey of tasks, adding to your skills and knowledge as you progress. The illustratons are lovely, and does not overwhelm you when you pick it up, you do actually think "oh, I could do that..."
I found this book very inspirational and have started on my own altered book, which is shaping up nicely, thanks to these fabulous instructions and inspirations.
If you are interested in altered art/books, this is definately one to add to your library.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2005
I bought this book hoping to see more examples of Artists book and Altered books, and perhaps find little 'tasks' to complete. Instead it is about 18 techniques the author used, and little to do with other artists. Bev Brazelton mentions she loves to work with acrylics: however, she fails to mention that you can only use these on one double-page spread, and that you must leave the book open afterwards. Acrylics, being like liquid plastic, have a tendency to bond when warm or under slight pressure-two facing pages in a closed book would, after a few minutes, bond as if they had been glued. The designs in this book are meant to be pretty, not much of a narrative, and certainly aren't that intriguing. I found Terry Taylors book on the subjec to be far better for my work.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2010
This is another book I would definitely recommend for those of you who would like to start crafting altered books, or for those who would just like some different ideas. Beautiful illustrations throughout, with easy to follow instructions. Good quality publication.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
There's lots of great techniques and projects in here, well explained and photographed, lots of nice examples, but the style is not particularly contemporary, more 'crafty' in the not-so-good sense of the word, though that really is just my personal taste affecting the review.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
Fabulous book, quite outdated now as it is quite old but it still has allot to offer, a couple of famous people in the industry also must think the same as they teach it as their own design in classes all over the world.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
Ever since I discovered the art of altered books on Pinterest I've wanted to try it for myself. This book clearly describes in words and pictures how to have a go at this. Perfect for my purposes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
I have had this book for a while but just revisited it. There are some good and clearly explained techniques in the book, which will help with altering a book, including adding tag pages and carving for adding drawers. I didn't get much inspiration from the actual imagery itself as it tends to be a little 'unusual' . Not a bad book for reference though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)