Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
1,271
4.7 out of 5 stars
Size: 800g|Change
Price:£14.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 July 2016
This Biona Organic Raw Virgin Coconut Oil is an absolute must buy, and is perfect for a variety of uses.

I believe it is worth buying in the larger jars such as this 800g, as a little goes a long way, and it also becomes better value for money cost wise.
This has lasted me months, and I still have a 1/3 left.

At cool temperatures this coconut oil is a solid state, but as it sits in your hand or naturally heats as room temperatures change, it turns to liquid.

I primarily use this for removing makeup before using a deep cleanser/face wash to remove any oil and remaining traces of make up from the skin - I have noticed a huge improvement to how soft my skin is, and I do attribute this to the use of the coconut oil as a natural cleanser.

A spoonful added to a hot bath, along with some Epsom salts and lavender oil, makes a wonderful relaxing detox bath. Skin feels incredibly moisturised after! Although be sure to give the bath a good clean after, as the oil does leave a greasy coating.

This is also suitable for oil pulling; using a spoonful at a time, and swirling it around for 10-20 minutes. It isn't the most pleasant of activities, but it is excellent at drawing out toxins and cleansing the mouth.

The uses really are endless, which is why purchasing this 800g jar is such good value. I highly recommend!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2016
A bit overpriced but it is excellent quality and keeps well. You should keep it in the fridge if you want it to be solid because in a warm room it will be liquid like a bottle of oil and in a cold room it is still very soft. The upside of that is it melts easily and quickly when you want it to. It is great for all cooking, especially frying at high temperatures, which it easily copes with. You can use it for cakes and biscuits but you should let the cake cool completely before taking out of the baking tin as the coconut oil needs to cool otherwise you cake may break.

It is a clear oil that turns white when solid. It smells of a mild coconut smell.

You can use it as a good bath oil and it is great as a moisturiser, but it is very oily so if you don't like oily skin then just cook with it! It is great as a hair treatment and really softens hair, wash hair well after leaving on for about 30 min. It makes an excellent baby oil.

It comes in a plastic screw top container and the inside is sealed with foil when it arrives.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2015
Lovely product use mainly to for cradle cap. Soften the hard scaly cradle cap which pulled away on it own after a few days of applying this oil. Now I use the oil all over the baby as it softens the skin and make her smell beautiful
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2016
Biona is one of my favourite brands, the organic raw virgin coconut oil is the best one i've tried. Although you can get others that are cheaper, they just don't seem to have the same subtle flavour as this one. My favourite use is for both moisturiser and as a hair serum, just a tiny bit keeps the flyaways at bay and gives a nice none-greasy shine to your hair, it's especially good if you have dry hair like mine. You can also use it as a deep conditioning mask, by leaving it in overnight then washing it out in the morning with a gentle shampoo. As a moisturiser it's one of the best things you can put on your skin, but if you're prone to spots or have acne, be careful, for some people it can clog your pores, for others it can make things like acne much better, it all depends on how big your pores are, so it's a trial and error thing. It's great for cooking but I no longer use it to roast in, as the organic raw stuff doesn't like being heated to high with it having a low smoke point, but it does make some fantastic roast potatoes and veg if you're not too worried about that! I try to stock up on it when its on offer as it is my favourite!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2015
Great for dry skin. I have eczema and it is great to keep on top of it during those times that it isnt flaring up. Smells great too :)
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2017
Love this Coconut oil and buy it often. It has a lovely taste I will have it on toast or crackers and really enjoy it, add strawberry jam and it's heaven! Really big pot so even with lots of use it lasts awhile and if you forget about it and don't want to eat it after such a long time you can simply use it for your hair! 😀 I use it for eating, frying, baking, beauty and more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2017
Really good to be able to get a decent amount of coconut oil that isn't hugely processed, for a decent price. It shouldn't smell of much, just coconuts, and it is great for alternative cooking and baking.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2015
After reading the reviews and Amazon put this on offer at half price - I had to purchase this product

So I went ahead and bought two tubs

Once delivered - I was shocked at how big the tubs are - I definitely got a bargain considering how much coconut oil is inside

The smell is great and doesn't feel cheap - the solid oil just melts into a liquid easily when heat is applied

Used it regularly for cooking and beauty purposes and it doesn't disappoint

I reckon both tubs will last me an extremely long time

Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
My partner uses this as a skin moisturiser, it works really well. I use it for cooking, instead of sunflower oil, and also eat a spoonfull daily to help with my Alzheimers. The cat likes it too!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
Edit June 2017 - The last two tubs of this I've ordered have arrived rancid and so foul smelling they've gone straight in the bin. A shame as this used to be a good product. Switched to the coconut merchant stuff and it's cheaper, tastes and smells better, and has a lovely silky texture whereas this product has become quite grainy recently. Don't waste your money on this product.

Original review - Tastes and smells amazing. I use it for cooking, as a moisturiser, as a hair mask, and sometimes I just eat it off the spoon!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 38 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)